Whatever happened to WebTV?

I know of several people who had used WebTV in the past, but they dropped it some time ago. I do not know why; they never told me and I have not had the opportunity to ask them why they stopped using WebTV.

Whatever happened to WebTV?

That is the question I have been asking myself for quite awhile now. Every so often, I search the internet for answers. From what I understand WebTV is now MSN TV. Even Wikipedia refers to WebTV as MSN TV. Those preceding hyperlinked web pages are best answers I have gotten off the internet.

I still am not exactly sure whatever happened to WebTV; but, I kind of think it went by the wayside just like the dinosaur.

About Roland Hansen

I have been: an organization development consultant; a college-level instructor of political science, psychology, and sociology; a public administrator; a social worker; an elected official; a political operative; a community activist; a union official; a shoe salesman and manager, a factory worker; a fast food restaurant employee; and, a custodian.
This entry was posted in Commentary, History, Nostalgia, Science, Things. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Whatever happened to WebTV?

  1. adam smith says:

    I think Webtv came out too early. I see a lot of monitor/computers nowadays and if the increase the size to the size of standard lcd tvs at an affordable price I think people would make the jump. I have a 42 inch 1080p Philips LCD that I bought a few months ago. I can honestly say I use my 27 inch Sharp XFlat CRT tv more often. I kinda like the old school look to movies and tv shows better to be honest. If the picture isn’t coming in in high-def, I think it looks terrible on my LCD. Anyway, I spend most of my time watching everything on my computer. My monitor is a little small, only 23 inches, but I plan to upgrade when I build my next gaming rig to a 28 inch. What I’d really love is a 55 inch LED LCD that has a computer built in for around $3,000 or less. I’d jump on that right away. Assuming it had a DX11 video card, gigabit ethernet, at least a TB hdd, and a blu-ray burner, I’d couple it with a wireless keyboard and mouse and never use the “computer room” again.

Leave a Reply

