Holiday Depression

‘Tis the season to be jolly —– or is it? The hussle and bustle that is allegedly a happy time of year between mid-November and the New Year can be quite depressing for many people.

Coping with and minimizing holiday/seasonal depresion is the subject of this SelfCounseling webpage.

The National Mental Health Association has a fact sheet entitled “Holiday Depression and Stress” that you may read over at Healthtouch Online.

MedicineNet also has information on this topic and also contains information and links about SAD, Seasonal Affective Disorder, and about phototherapy.

About Roland Louis Hansen

I have been: an organization development consultant; a college-level instructor of political science, psychology, and sociology; a public administrator; a social worker; an elected official; a political operative; a community activist; a union official; a shoe salesman and manager, a factory worker; a fast food restaurant employee; and, a custodian.
This entry was posted in General, Health, Holidays, Psychology, Websites. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Holiday Depression

  1. Lisa Renee says:

    I’ve never been a huge fan of Christmas or to be more exact a fan of what Christmas has become but it was my father’s favorite holiday. After my father died it became even more difficult to get into the “holiday spirit”. So, I decided that it didn’t matter how others celebrated Christmas that I was going to concentrate on what I felt the concept and the day was about and stop worrying about meeting expectations of those who felt Christmas was all about how much you purchased or how much you received.

    🙂

    Like

  2. I second Lisa’s sentiments.

    CHRISTmas isn’t about gifts and overspending except to the mercenaries of the corporate world. REAL folks celebrate the real meaning. . .

    Like

  3. eileen says:

    I have had many deaths in my family over the past 2 years and each holiday season gets tougher and tougher. I also work retail and the push for more hours and more sales are
    really wearing on me. I am so releived on January 2nd…….I never thought I would be this kind of person.

    Like

Leave a Reply

