Podolia Guberniya

I am a mixed breed. My paternal lineage is Danish. However, my maternal lineage is not Danish. My mother became a naturalized American citizen after having emigrated to the United States. Before being allowed into the United States, she, her older sister, and her mother (my grandmother) had to wait in Havana, Cuba where they lived for seven years. My mother was born in Podolia Guberniya.

Okay, I know, you’re saying “Huh, What’s that? Where’s that?”

My mother used to tell me that she was born in Russia. Not necessarily so, though, according to the genealogical research that my brother Jan and my son Adam have been doing on my family for years.

Back in 2002, Adam received an e-mail from a long-lost distant cousin that none of my present immediate family members even knew existed. Whatever. According to this source, Podolia Guberniya is in Ukraine, not ‘The Ukraine’ and not Russia.

The Free Dictionary Encyclopedia has a brief article about Podolia. Another interesting article I found about Podolia Guberniya is in pdf format from the archives of the Routes to Roots Foundation. Some interesting information about Ukraine may be found by going to the website of CIA – World Factbook – Ukraine.

I find all that to be some interesting geography and history information. Another day, I will share similar information from my paternal side of the family about Denmark.

About Roland Louis Hansen

I have been: an organization development consultant; a college-level instructor of political science, psychology, and sociology; a public administrator; a social worker; an elected official; a political operative; a community activist; a union official; a shoe salesman and manager, a factory worker; a fast food restaurant employee; and, a custodian.
This entry was posted in Family, Personal, Places. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Podolia Guberniya

  1. Judy says:

    On my birth certificate under Father’s Birthplace it has ?, Poland. So the story goes, the city he was born in was wiped off the map during the war. Interesting finding out about who we are, isn’t it!

    Like

  2. Genealogy can be a tricky business as roots, like branches are often twisted.

    Both of my main roots lead back to Poland, despite the that “Poland” has an interesting history of its own having been partitioned, disappearing altogether for a time, and with ever-changing borders.

    There is some question about my father’s real roots because of this and other issues.

    Boy! Or, should I say Oy! ???

    Like

  3. So, the question remains. Was my mother a Russian Jew as she always said or was she a Ukrainian Jew?

    Like

  4. Aunt Betty says:

    Podolia was a Province. Henceforth, grandma would say she came from Podolia Guberniya. That was in the Southwestern part of the Ukraine. She too, would say sometimes that she was going back to Russia, meaning to the Ukraine. Grandma, your mother, and Celia, were in what was called the Pale of Settlement which was the Ukraine. I know a lot of Jews here who came from different parts of the Soviet Union who just refer to themselves as Russian Jews. So in answer to your question, your mother is answering the same way even though she was born in the Ukraine. Until someone tells me better, I will also say the same. And then maybe she is a Ukrainian Jew!!!!!!

    Like

  5. “The Podolia Governorate or Government of Podolia, set up after the Second Partition of Poland, comprised a governorate (guberniya) of the Russian Empire from 1793 to 1917, of the Ukrainian People’s Republic from 1917 to 1921, and of the Ukrainian SSR from 1921 to 1925.”
    ref: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Podolia_Governorate

    Like

Leave a Reply

