Danish Treat

As I wrote in my December 15, 2006 entry entitled Podolia Guberniya“I am a mixed breed. My paternal lineage is Danish. However, my maternal lineage is not Danish.” I then proceeded to write about my maternal parentage. I concluded that day’s entry with
“Another day, I will share similar information from my paternal side of the family about Denmark.”

Well, that other day is today.

My paternal grandparents were from Denmark. My grandfather, Simon Peter Hansen, left his country of birth on August 8, 1907. He was born in 1885 in Rubjerg and last resided in Hjorring before emigrating to the USA. My grandmother, Agnes Helene Mathilda Jakobsen, was born December 12, 1891 in the Parish of Tårs in the Shire of Børglum in the County of Hjørring; and, she had resided in Gravlev, Oplev, and Aalborg prior to leaving Denmark on September 10, 1908. My grandparents wed one another in Elk Horn, Iowa on November 19, 1910. They began their family soon afterward while in Elk Horn and later moved the family to Toledo, Ohio.

Some other very interesting Danish sites include:

The Danish Villages in Iowa

The Danish Emigration Archives

The Danish Windmill in Elk Horn, Iowa

The Danish Immigrant Museum in Elk Horn, Iowa

The Danish Inn of Elk Horn, Iowa

About Roland Louis Hansen

I have been: an organization development consultant; a college-level instructor of political science, psychology, and sociology; a public administrator; a social worker; an elected official; a political operative; a community activist; a union official; a shoe salesman and manager, a factory worker; a fast food restaurant employee; and, a custodian.
This entry was posted in Community, Danish, Family, Non Profits, People, Personal, Places, Restaurants, Things, Travel, Websites. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Danish Treat

  1. Most are mixed breeds these days with few purebreds left, and even those claiming to be purebred are suspect because of sometimes fictional or creative genealogy research.

    I claim to be purebred but even I suspect that my ancestry is not as it has been told to me, because of the turmoil and changes in Poland before the early 1900’s.

    Unless I dedicate my retirement years to researching and verifying the facts, which may be lost because of the European involvement in the wars, I may never truly know, not that it really matters, or would somehow change anything.

    If I go down that road though I must approach it purely out of curiosity and nothing more.

    Like

Leave a Reply

