More Than Minimum Wage

Ohio recently increased the minimum wage. Now, the United States Congress is talking about raising the national minimum wage.

Recently, I wrote this in regards to wages. Now, here is what may be considered Part 2 of that epistle of mine in that it further exemplifies the differences in wages of which I previously wrote.

Did you notice the wage package in that story? What do you think now? Are you paid enough for your job? Are wages fair and equitable for everybody?

About Roland Louis Hansen

I have been: an organization development consultant; a college-level instructor of political science, psychology, and sociology; a public administrator; a social worker; an elected official; a political operative; a community activist; a union official; a shoe salesman and manager, a factory worker; a fast food restaurant employee; and, a custodian.
This entry was posted in Blogs, Commentary, Finance, General, Musing, News, People. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to More Than Minimum Wage

  1. Reminds me of a story Art Linkletter once told to a college student questioning Art’s profiting from the Oil Depletion ALlowance, seeing as he was already a Millionaire.

    Art (as I recall) mentioned that, as a Millionaire, out of each hundred dollars that he makes, after the Feral Government takes the maximum rate from him, he gets to keep seven dollars.

    He then said that, if I didn’t get that ODA, he wouldn’t invest in oil, he would take his money elsewhere and invest it.

    Now, how do you think that would affect the oil industry if Art and others like him didn’t gamble in oil and invested instead in something “safer?”

    To me capping what one can earn is counterproductive. . ., as counterproductive as artificially raising the “starting” wage.

    But then, I’ve never worked for minimum (or maximum) so, I may not have the experience to judge either accurately.

    On my first job though, when I was there long enough to join the union, I got a five cent per hour raise; union dues were ten cents per hour, so I netted less once I was in the union. . .

    Like

Leave a Reply

