Aloha and Mahalo

Aloha and Mahalo.
As I make preparations for another trip to Hawai‘i, I am doing my research via written literature from a variety of sources as well as making use of the internet.

Previous trips have taken Judy and I to three of the islands: Maui, O‘ahu, and The Big Island Hawai‘i.
This time, we are going to the island of Kaua‘i. Maybe while we are there, we will see The Menehune of Kaua‘i, who are the little people of which you may have read. If you just read those two embedded links and wish to read a little bit more about the Menehune, go over here.

More Hawai‘ian words and phrases are located at this website.

About Roland Louis Hansen

I have been: an organization development consultant; a college-level instructor of political science, psychology, and sociology; a public administrator; a social worker; an elected official; a political operative; a community activist; a union official; a shoe salesman and manager, a factory worker; a fast food restaurant employee; and, a custodian.
This entry was posted in Blogs, Family, Hawaii, Language, Paranormal, Personal, Places, Travel, Websites. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Aloha and Mahalo

  1. barb says:

    lucky you–and someone pays you to go to hawaii? or do YOU pay?

    Like

  2. hahahaha — I should be so lucky to have someone pay me to travel!! If only that could be the case, I would really really be happy.
    No, Barb, it’s just a matter of prudent planning, and finding the right price. That and at times using frequent flyer miles, finding travel promotions, attending time share presentations and whatever other gimmicks I can use to my advantage, etc.
    Being travel savvy can allow folks to do so much more for so much less than the folks who are not as prudent.

    Like

  3. Oh, I forgot to say that there was a period of time when Judy and I worked for a travel and tour agency for a couple of winter seasons in Mesa, Arizona. That was when we not only got to travel at no cost to us but also were paid while doing so in our capacities of tour guides. We traveled to places in Arizona, Nevada, California, and Mexico.

    Like

  4. barb says:

    I saw the word “research” and leaped to conclusion through careless reading. Thought you might be doing a job.

    Have a great time! Did they ever talk you into a time share?

    Like

  5. Lisa Renee says:

    I love to research vacations, I don’t often actually get to the end result of actually going…but it’s fun to dream about.

    From what I hear Hawaii is amazing, I’ll wait for pictures then ooh and ahhh in envy.

    🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

