Where to Retire

Just a little taunt to my friend whom I have never met, Hooda Thunkit of Toledo, Ohio (aka Dave Zawodny):
I dedicate this entry to you.

I am still not yet 60; but, I retired several years ago while in my early 50s. Before I actually did retire, it had been my planned desire to retire in the Southeast United States in either North Carolina or South Carolina. Then shortly before I retired I heard about how well a retiree from the States or from Canada could live in Lake Chapala, Mexico on a relatively small income. I did my research and it sounded great. Here, go over and see this Lake Chapala website.

As it turned out, I made several visits to my brother Garry and his lovely wife Lorraine and their wonderful daughters out in Mesa, Arizona. Upon their urgings I rethought my retirement plans. Mesa has 330 sunshine days a year, is warm to hot all year long, and has next to no humidity, quite unlike the Carolinas or Lake Chapala. On my last visit, we all started looking in the area for a home where my wife, Judy, and I could spend our retirement years. Lorraine found a lovely 55+ community only one mile from my brother’s house. We started looking there even though I was not 55. Persistence paid off; and, eventually we found a fantastic bargain on a two bedroom house which we purchased shortly after I turned 55 — the qualifying age. This is where I have been hanging my hat for the majority of the winter months for several years now, but I also spend time in Mesa during other parts of the year, going back and forth from Toledo, Ohio.
Fast forward to the present. I just received an e-mail from my son, Adam, who gave me the link to an article of the best country in which to retire. Guess which country is ranked number one. It’s Mexico. The United States is ranked at number 19. Maybe, I need to rethink my retirement plans again for about the thirty-seventh time. You should read the article. It is International Living Study Says Mexico Best Country to Retire.

p.s. Het HT, I’m still on my vacation in Kauai, Hawaii.

About Roland Louis Hansen

I have been: an organization development consultant; a college-level instructor of political science, psychology, and sociology; a public administrator; a social worker; an elected official; a political operative; a community activist; a union official; a shoe salesman and manager, a factory worker; a fast food restaurant employee; and, a custodian.
This entry was posted in Blogs, Community, Consumerism, Family, Friends, Hawaii, Musing, News, Personal, Places, Travel, Websites. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Where to Retire

  1. Hooda Thunkit says:

    Roland,

    First and foremost, you didn’t HAVE to rub in (again) the fact that you’re still in Hawaii, but I probably would have done the same 😉

    And, thank you for the information about the other locations.

    As our son is in California and our daughter is in Nevada, we had been thinking of moving there or near some of our friends residing part time in Arizona too.

    But, for me at least, it’s all about the humidity and getting Mrs. Thunkit to break her ties here with her only sister who lives in nearby Oregon, OH and whose children live in Cleveland and S.W. Indiana.

    The best answer for us just may be finding a small Summer place (up Nort) in a tax-friendly place like lower MI or perhaps IN and a Winter home in the DRY Southwest. I may have to add Mexico though and see if I can find something nice before it becomes the 51st state and the values/taxes go out of sight 😉

    Like

Leave a Reply

