Disowning Family

I am aware that there are people in this world who disown members of their own family. It seems such a shame that this type of action is taken by those related by blood, oftentimes for trivial reasons.

That subject has come to my attention again just recently, so I decided to do a little research on the internet. Amongst the many things I have learned while web surfing is that there are various degrees of “disowning family.”

Some individuals actually do the full fledge disown thing for a variety of reasons.

Some individuals may become angry with another family member and refuse to speak with the other person with the long-term result of never renewing the family relationship.

Other individuals just get stubborn and will not initiate contact with family members awaiting the other family member to contact them.

There are some people who think to themselves that they will contact others of their family “tomorrow” but “tomorrow” just never seems to come around.

And then, there are those individuals who are just too lazy or caught up in themselves to keep in touch with other members of their family. This may be viewed by the other relatives as being so insensitive or inconsiderate to the extent that the person’s lack of contact is considered by the relative as being a form of being disowned.

Below are just a few real life examples of what I discovered in my internet explorations:

My Personal New Years Resolution from Gayla McCord …doin’ my own thing. (06/02/2011 UPDATE: This blog and its entry of December 29, 2006 are no longer available. Sorry! However, I did find another entry a year afterwards by Gayla McCord that you can click on over to read. It is New Year’s Resolution – Less Stress, January 10, 2007.)
Disowning Family – Help from The Sober Community.
Disowning Family from The Sultan.
Disowning Your Children from JustMommies Message Boards
Procedures for disowning family members from Thomas Stobie’s Genealogy Objectives and Guidelines.
How To: Burn Bridges from AskMen – Disowning Family.

About Roland Louis Hansen

I have been: an organization development consultant; a college-level instructor of political science, psychology, and sociology; a public administrator; a social worker; an elected official; a political operative; a community activist; a union official; a shoe salesman and manager, a factory worker; a fast food restaurant employee; and, a custodian.
This entry was posted in Blogs, Commentary, Communication, Family, General, People, Personal, Sociology, Websites. Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Disowning Family

  1. Jason Hansen says:

    Do you feel this way?

    Like

  2. Jason,
    I am not sure I understand your question.
    I, myself, believe in the importance of family.

    Like

  3. Jason Hansen says:

    I know you do. Do you feel disowned?

    Like

  4. Hmmm. That’s an interesting philosophical, introspective, and thought-provoking question, Jason.
    We can discuss the whole subject sometime in person. I do not get into personal and/or deep one-on-one dialogue here on the blog (Roland’s Ramblings, The Education, Information, and Political Science Place; The blog of Roland Hansen from Toledo, Ohio).

    Like

  5. Mirshalak says:

    Roland,
    I would urge you not to be excessively quick to judge those who have chosen to terminate contact with genetic relatives.

    You yourself may have the rare luxury of relatives who are supportive, understanding, and not chronically mentally ill.

    Unfortunately, not all of the rest of us do.

    Like

  6. JoJo says:

    Umm…well, I have been disowned by my family for various reasons. It was their choice. I cannot change that. All I have to say is that I am hurt.

    Like

  7. Richard Talamantez says:

    need a research family come check out mine!!
    Includes feuding uncle and aunts who often forgetting their own past but refuse to forget your own. A mother whose past will always haunt her but refuses to say anything on her own behalf. Older siblings who distorted view of everything “nobody loved me” the younger siblings “my way or no way” the one who decided I’m not going to take this anymore. lets talk it out. but gets blamed for everything “me”
    I have been physically beaten, threaten with death, When I started sticking up for myself it got worse

    Like

  8. Ben Heed says:

    On the subject of disowning:
    I disowned my sister and her family following my father and I being thrown out of our home by her and her husband 4 years ago.
    My Mom died in 2002, and after that they showed their true colors.
    I was falsely accused of abusing their handicapped son, who was 16 at that time, and after my Dad came to my defense, we were thrown out of our house by them. My parents bought the house (a Duplex) with them in 1991. The understanding was we owned 1 side, and they the other. Unknown to my parents, they put the entire house in their name…my parents never owned anything.
    Dad is in a Nursing Home now with Alzheimers, and I sold the trailer that we bought in 2005. I was accused of getting rid of my father, and pocketing all the money from the sale of the trailer.
    So, as far as disowning goes: Yes, it does seem a drastic thing…but under certain circumstances, like mine, it was as easy as getting up ou of bed in the morning after a good night sleep.
    Ben Heed

    Like

  9. Nicki says:

    I agree that sometimes it is the last allternative to disown your family. My husband and I have been together for three years. We have a beautiful daughter together and he has two children from a previous woman (they were never married). She threw him out and had a boy friend a couple months later. My husband waited to date for over a year. His family thinks that I am the bastard and our daughter too. Therefore, my husband and I don not speak to them at all. They invite his ex and her new bo to family functions. I am a teacher and my husband has a very good job as well. I would never have guessed that I would have in laws that would think or act the way they do, but this is true. The only way to cope is to wash our hands of them. What else can you do be one happy family..NOT.

    Like

  10. C Salyer says:

    Roland. Do you have a brother named Gary? He was important to me many years ago and I have lost touch.

    Like

  11. Yes I do, only he spells his name Garry. At birth, he was given the surname of Bogdanski (my stepfather was William Bogdanski); but later in life after my mother divorced Bill Bogdanski, Garry had his last name changed through the court system to Hansen so that he would have the same as his older (half) brothers.

    Like

  12. Apparently, there are many people who are interested in the subject of “disowning family” based on the number of hits over the years to his blog entry.

    Like

  13. Over the period of time that has passed since I first wrote this Roland’s Ramblings back in December 2007, I have received messages in one way or another from people in regards to to this blog entry and other similar writings of mine.
    Even though I know better, even though I should not be surprised, I am still none-the-less amazed that one person or another will internalize my writings on this and similarly related topics elsewhere on Roland’s Ramblings, as well as other places on the internet, as though my comments are directed at him or her personally as an individual.
    Then, after those people do so, they get all defensive and show their own insecurities by some of their own questioning comments that are directed at me personally on any number of my blog entries, or on similar comments I have written elsewhere on the internet, in regards to the overall subject.
    Little wonders never cease.

    Like

  14. I have a situation where a child has been told they are not good enough to be an Aunt of a siblings child, and a present has been returned by another sibling for no reason.. this person has pain of being disowned, and told that they are disowned…. and I have to believe the pain is great.

    Like

  15. Trinidad says:

    Wow! After all I got a weblog from where I be able to in fact obtain valuable data concerning my study and knowledge.

    Like

  16. Britt Gibson says:

    Simply desire to say your article is as astonishing. The clearness for your post is just cool and i could suppose you are a professional in this subject. Well together with your permission let me to grasp your feed to keep updated with impending post. Thanks a million and please keep up the rewarding work.

    Like

  17. cheap ray rice ravens jersey says:

    I do not understand why everyone disowns me!!!
    People get upset with me just because I send this message to them: “If some one needs to be updated with newest technologies after that he must be pay a quick visit this website and be up to date all the time.”

    The above spam message came from carrierudolph at gmail dot com

    Like

  18. I am constantly amazed at how many times this blog entry is still looked at, even after so much time has elapsed since I first wrote it.

    Like

Leave a Reply

