Me, Myself, and I

Hey, I have a question for you. Who is an egocentric’s favorite person?

What? You don’t know who or what is an egocentric?

Well, an egocentric is a person who is afflicted with egocentrism. What? Oh, I see that I am not clarifying much.

Okay, let me try this. Ask an egocentic the first question posed above and the egocentric will respond “I have three favorite people: me, myself, and I.” You see an egocentric thinks the world revolves around him or her. An egocentric always turns a conversation around so that the topic always is about the egocentric. There is no one else more important to that person than that person. An egecentric’s favorite person is him or her self.

Read the Wikipedia Egocentrism article. You might also wish to read this very interesting Derivism Egocentrism article.

Do you know anyone who you would label an egocentric?

About Roland Louis Hansen

I have been: an organization development consultant; a college-level instructor of political science, psychology, and sociology; a public administrator; a social worker; an elected official; a political operative; a community activist; a union official; a shoe salesman and manager, a factory worker; a fast food restaurant employee; and, a custodian.
This entry was posted in General, Musing, People, Psychology. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Me, Myself, and I

  1. Tim Higgins says:

    Roland,

    I would have commented sooner, but it is difficult to type while patting yourself on the back. Seriously though, the fine line between self-confidence and self-absorption is one we all tread carefully, especially those of us who blog.

    Who are we that we should hold for with our opinions?
    What makes so special that someone should list to what we say?
    …and
    Why do we allow comments when we each know that we have provided all definitive information required?

    Excuse me, I ‘m need to get away from this computer and go find a mirror…

    Like

  2. Roland says:

    You go. I go. She go. He go. Ego — wait, I just spotted a politician.

    Like

Leave a Reply

