Jews

There are all kinds of Jews.

If you have been a long-time Roland’s Ramblings reader, by now you should be aware that I have this habit of reading one thing on the internet that takes me to another that takes me to another that takes me to another. I used to do that same type of thing with the printed version of dictionaries, thesaurus, encyclopedias, books of all kinds, and whatever I could find at home, in the library, or wherever.  Now, I have the whole big internet to explore. I digress, let’s get back to task.

Mind you, this time I was reading an article the other day about Albert Einstein that I found in the Judy’s Jewels entry of “Imagination is more important than knowledge.” The article included the fact that he was Jewish. At the very bottom of the very long Wikipedia Albert Einstein article was a whole bunch of links to other places.

I clicked on the one link at the bottom of that Albert Einstein article for Ashkenazi Jews which took me to the Wikipedia Category:Ashkenazi Jews. I was surprised at all the information there for Subcategories and for Pages in category “Ashkenazi Jews”. Go ahead look at it all from here.

Then I had an idea which formed the question in my mind: What would happen if I deleted “Ashkenazi_” from the URL? Only one way to know says I to me. I did the deed and discovered a whole lot of Jews.

Well, actually, I found a lot more extensive listing with a plethora of links concerning the Wikipedia Category on Jews.
See for yourself by — you guessed it — clicking this right here.

There sure is a lot of information contained within each of those links which contain even more links.
Just as one example, take a look at Category:Lists of Jews.

I had no idea there were Jews here and Jews there and Jews everywhere. And there for awhile, I almost felt as if I were all alone. I wonder if someday I will be on one of those lists of lists.

My, oh my, aren’t we just being listful today??!!…

About Roland Louis Hansen

I have been: an organization development consultant; a college-level instructor of political science, psychology, and sociology; a public administrator; a social worker; an elected official; a political operative; a community activist; a union official; a shoe salesman and manager, a factory worker; a fast food restaurant employee; and, a custodian.
This entry was posted in Blogs, Education, Family, General, History, Jewish, People, Personal, Religion, Sociology, YWOTD (Yiddish Word Of The Day) ייִדיש. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Jews

  1. Roland,

    I found the lists to be more than I had ever imagined.

    BTW, was there a group of Jews that did nothing but develop and generate lists?

    🙂

    Like

  2. Roland says:

    HT,
    I am not sure if there is a Jewish group that developes and generates lists, but I wouldn’t doubt it.

    Incidentally, another list of Jews is Schindler’s List.

    Like

Leave a Reply

