3-2 Homophone (or to, two, too)

‘Way back when’ was a time in the State of Ohio when 18, 19, and 20 year-olds could legally purchase and consume low-point beer, aka 3-2 beer, the low power stuff. Back then, you had to be at least 21 years of age to legally purchase and consume high power beer, the 5 to 7% kind.

But I’m not intending to write about beer. I am writing about the 3-2 homophone. I often read the writings of others who frequently get caught up with the to/too/two homonym.

Head on over to read the difference of to, too, and two. Don’t be confused, go over this way to read to, too, two. And if that isn’t enough, I dare you to take the to/two/too quiz.

About Roland Louis Hansen

I have been: an organization development consultant; a college-level instructor of political science, psychology, and sociology; a public administrator; a social worker; an elected official; a political operative; a community activist; a union official; a shoe salesman and manager, a factory worker; a fast food restaurant employee; and, a custodian.
This entry was posted in Communication, Food, General, Language, Nostalgia, Things. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to 3-2 Homophone (or to, two, too)

  1. Judy Hansen says:

    This entry is way too cool!

    Like

  2. Marilyn & Michael Kocevar says:

    I got them all right, I think I better let Michael take the quiz. Let’s see what he gets right.

    Like

  3. It’s good to see two comments from Judy and Marilyn — and from my Slovenian friend, Michael, too!

    Like

  4. Rich says:

    Thank you for the quiz and to let us know how you two are doing. One day Gloria and I hope to go on an Alaskan cruise. Enjoy life to it’s fullest. Love you both; Rich & Gloria.

    Like

  5. Judy Hansen says:

    That’s funny because Roland & I, the two of us, were talking about that very same cruise to Alaska, too! My sister & nephew just came back from a 7 day cruise to Alaska and they loved it, too!

    Like

  6. Roland,

    Too, too much for us two digit I.Q. folks.

    But, I suppose that I’ll have to go and take the derned test just to prove that us two-digiters can pass it too 😉

    Shucks, my two digit number of correct answere (12) even contained a two too. Too bad I had to take the test to prove my skills e=were up to the task.

    I gues then, that my percentage score is greater that two digits, it being 100%…

    😉

    Like

  7. BTW, when was a wee lad a friend of the family, a beer distributor, told us that 3.2% beer was by weight, (alcohol being lighter than water) which was (coincidentally) 7% by volume.

    The 3.2 vx. 7.0 labeling was done strictly for tax purposes.

    I haven’t done the math, but that was what I was told…

    Like

  8. Gee, I thought maybe I would get two comments to read, but now there are too many for me to even count.
    I think the two became three or was that 3.2 then became 7 before this.
    ooooo.
    I feel too dizzy to read even two of them.
    Of course, it can’t be a problem of having two or more too many 3.2 beers to drink now could it???!!!!…..

    Like

Leave a Reply

