Cell Phone Schmoes

I am sick and tired, frustrated and angry, and just darn fed-up and irritated at the overindulgence and rudeness of many people when it comes to their use of cell phones whether it be speaking on the cell phone or texting on it. In my opinion, these cell phone schmoes are self-centered, inconsiderate, rude, and deficient in social graces.

Recent examples of personal observations include:
• being in attendance at a wedding where other attendees were answering their ringing cell phones,
• an attorney for a school board busily ‘texting’ away while the school board was conducting business,
• a visitor in my home answering one cell phone call after another in idle telephone chit-chat,
• a person who was conducting business with the teller at the bank kept on with a personal cell phone conversation the entire time,
• while trying to have a conversation with a visitor in my home sitting across from me that visitor kept busy ‘texting’ on the cell phone

In that the absence of manners and of consideration for others by many users of cell phones are a major pet peeve of mind, I was especially interested in something I read in the newspaper today. Continue reading, please.

“Dear Annie: Do you have rules for cell phone etiquette? I called a friend to say hello, and within two minutes her cell phone rang. Instead of letting the call go to voicemail, she answered it while holding the home phone to her other ear, and I could hear her entire trivial conversation. I almost hung up on her.
It seems I wasn’t important enough for her to ignore the cell phone, ………”

That is just an excerpt of the second letter in the column of Annie’s Mailbox that I read today.
Read the rest of this letter and the response to it yourself over at the September 30 column of Annie’s Mailbox® by Kathy Mitchell and Marcy Sugar.

About Roland Louis Hansen

I have been: an organization development consultant; a college-level instructor of political science, psychology, and sociology; a public administrator; a social worker; an elected official; a political operative; a community activist; a union official; a shoe salesman and manager, a factory worker; a fast food restaurant employee; and, a custodian.
This entry was posted in General. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Cell Phone Schmoes

  1. Jason Hansen says:

    I couldn’t agree more with you. I can’t recall me doing any of these things & if I have… please let me know. It’s not a secret that I work for Buckeye CableSystem & at times I have to call customer’s back on issues that have been escalated to me. I recall several times when talking to the customer… a cell phone has rang & they opted to answer the call. From a Customer Service standpoint… I couldn’t say much to the customer as I would like to keep my job. The only thing that I say when this happens if the customer doesn’t hang up quickly is to please call us back when they have more time to fix/discuss the issue. Usually they will disconnect their cell phone call or some will actually decide to choose to call us back.

    Like

  2. Tim Higgins says:

    Roland,

    I will jump on the bandwagon on this with you and Jason. I was annoyed enough to post on it myself once upon a time in an earlier blog. You remind me that I should dig it up and take a look at it again one of these days. Maybe I could do the subject the justice that you have done here at a future date.

    Like

  3. Roland,

    My wife and her co-worker ignore people coming into their office if they come on while talking on the phone until the person says something to them.

    The conversation usually goes something like, “when is somebody going to help me?” to which the reply is usually. “You’re talking to somebody, we’ll help you when you are finished.”

    Needless to say, this, although much resented, is effective 😉

    Like

  4. Judy Hansen says:

    I see this problem only getting worse over time. I think HT’s wife has a good way of answering the problem!

    Like

Leave a Reply

