Names for Grandmother and Grandfather

Grandma and Grandpa aren’t the only nicknames for grandparents. Many children call their grandparents by any number of nicknames. It’s really quite interesting. What do you (or did you) call your grandparents? What do your grandchildren call you?

Three sites to explore the different names for grandparents are:
Namenerds.com: Names for Grandparents
The New Parents Guide: Nicknames for Grandparents
Grand Magazine: Grandma and Grandpa Nicknames

About Roland Louis Hansen

I have been: an organization development consultant; a college-level instructor of political science, psychology, and sociology; a public administrator; a social worker; an elected official; a political operative; a community activist; a union official; a shoe salesman and manager, a factory worker; a fast food restaurant employee; and, a custodian.
This entry was posted in Communication, Family, General, Language, People, Sociology. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Names for Grandmother and Grandfather

  1. Roland,

    We called Dad’s Parents Grandpa and Grandma but Mom’s were Buszia and Dzia Dzia, yet all were Polish.

    Go figure…

    Like

  2. Judy says:

    I love it every time I hear the kids call me Bubby. When my kids were young my Bubby was still with us, so my Mom became Gran to them! I say call me Bubby or whatever, just call me!

    Like

  3. Tim Higgins says:

    Roland,

    I don’t know about you guys, but I’m just happy when the grandkids call. Any name that they use is extra…

    Like

  4. CW Martin says:

    We called them Granma and Granpa. I was blown away and heard others calling them nana and other such things. Sheltered life, I know.

    Like

  5. Debbie Ryan Cook says:

    I always called my grandmother, Nana, until I was about 12, then she was grandma. I called both grandfather’s, grandpa.

    My granddaughter calls me, Yaya. She calls my husband Papa Scott .

    Like

Leave a Reply

