Happy Un Fathers Day

I loathe Hallmark Holidays. There are several calendar events that are referred to as a Hallmark Holiday but in reality are not a Hallmark Holiday and that includes Father’s Day! None-the-less, I loathe most special calendar events commonly called holidays.

I truly believe that every day is a special day to express love, affection, respect, honor, thanks, or whatever to whomever.

To me, if people only come together on special calendar day events to share feelings, I actually question whether the feelings are really truly felt OR are they expressed because it is expected to be expressed on that calendar date. I want to know on days other than the special calendar day, holiday, or annual occurrence that someone may be thinking of me. That is what I desire for myself and that is basically how I treat others, although I will additionally observe the calendar dates when it concerns those events for others. I believe that for the most part I practice what I preach.

Today is not Fathers Day OR is it? To borrow a term from Charles Lutwidge Dodgson, better known as Lewis Carroll, today may be not only an unbirthday, but also an unFather’s Day.
So,
Happy unFather’s Day to all the dads out there.

Along those same lines, Happy unMother’s Day, Happy unGrandparents Day, unSweetest Day, unThanksgiving Day, and Happy Unbirthday!!!

Happy uneverything and every uneventday that exists.

Of course, we all know that Roland’s Ramblings are all unreal.

Watch and listen here for the unending of this Roland’s Ramblings.

For those of you who are much more traditional than I, which I strongly suspect is almost everyone, please take the time to visit Father’s Day on the Net.

About Roland Louis Hansen

I have been: an organization development consultant; a college-level instructor of political science, psychology, and sociology; a public administrator; a social worker; an elected official; a political operative; a community activist; a union official; a shoe salesman and manager, a factory worker; a fast food restaurant employee; and, a custodian.
This entry was posted in General. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Happy Un Fathers Day

  1. Roland,

    Happy Un-Father’s day, but more than that, Happy Amigo’s Day!

    Of course, every day is Amigo’s Day 😉

    Like

  2. Tim Higgins says:

    Let’s hear it for the banning of Hallmark Holidays!

    Like

  3. Adam Hansen says:

    Well like it or not, I am wishing you a happy Father’s Day anyhow. 😛 Hope you embrace this day and everyday as the special one that it is.

    Like

  4. Roland says:

    Thanks, HT.
    Right on, TH.
    Thanks, Adam.

    Like

Leave a Reply

