My End Is Near; My Final Curtain

As I approach the end of days, my end of days. there is a song that pops into my head from time to time that I think I would choose to be my epitaph, albeit a long epitaph.

But then again, I’ve always done things my way. That in and of itself makes the song My Way to be quite fitting.

I am placing links to three YouTube versions of My Way, below, if you would care to listen:
Paul Anka “My way”
Elvis Presley – My Way ( Hawaii Rehearsal Concert 1973 ).mp4
Elvis Presley and Frank Sinatra – “My Way”

And below, you may read the lyrics:

And now, the end is near;
And so I face the final curtain.
My friend, I’ll say it clear,
I’ll state my case, of which I’m certain.

I’ve lived a life that’s full.
I’ve traveled each and ev’ry highway;
And more, much more than this,
I did it my way.

Regrets, I’ve had a few;
But then again, too few to mention.
I did what I had to do
And saw it through without exemption.

I planned each charted course;
Each careful step along the byway,
But more, much more than this,
I did it my way.

Yes, there were times, I’m sure you knew
When I bit off more than I could chew.
But through it all, when there was doubt,
I ate it up and spit it out.
I faced it all and I stood tall;
And did it my way.

I’ve loved, I’ve laughed and cried.
I’ve had my fill; my share of losing.
And now, as tears subside,
I find it all so amusing.

To think I did all that;
And may I say – not in a shy way,
No, oh no not me,
I did it my way.

For what is a man, what has he got?
If not himself, then he has naught.
To say the things he truly feels;
And not the words of one who kneels.
The record shows I took the blows –
And did it my way!

So there you have it, my friends; I think that about says it all. I really and truly think this song befits me perfectly; and, it is indeed how I wish to be remembered.

About Roland Louis Hansen

I have been: an organization development consultant; a college-level instructor of political science, psychology, and sociology; a public administrator; a social worker; an elected official; a political operative; a community activist; a union official; a shoe salesman and manager, a factory worker; a fast food restaurant employee; and, a custodian.
This entry was posted in Commentary, Entertainment, General, Personal. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to My End Is Near; My Final Curtain

  1. Judy says:

    What does the day of the week you were born say about you…this from Facebook?
    You are hard to control and in many ways one of the most independent of people. You must feel free to act on your impulses and intuition. Honor and trust are high on your list of priorities and you believe in fairness for yourself and others. You have a strong nurturing side when it comes to animals and children and the less fortunate. You often act impulsively to protect the defenseless. You try to project an air of self assurance and confidence but underneath you are sensitive and insecure. You have enormous willpower and are immensely loyal. You are often unreasonable but do not balk at an open discussion. You are witty and enjoy debate. You have a great need to give rather then receive. You only open up to a few people and share your innermost thoughts. Strengths: Honorable – Intuitive – Responsible Weaknesses: Over Competitive – Impulsive – Temperamental .

    Like

  2. Roland says:

    Gee, Judy, are you trying to tell me something?

    Like

  3. Roland,

    Regardless of any messages (real or inferred) I would suggest that you keep your electronic messages in place and intact, for the speak volumes about what makes Roland Hansen well, Roland Hansen.

    As for the disposal of the shell that currently houses what makes Roland Hansen unique, I offer you the solution that I have chosen.

    Just remember to use a grease stained bag…, no use in ruining a perfectly reusable bag, now is there?

    And know for sure that, should we outlive you, dos amigos will lift their glasses and toast your memory, which for us will be everlasting 😉

    Like

  4. Tim Higgins says:

    Roland,

    The end is far from near for you. (not a bad phrase, huh?) You have far too much to contribute, to share, and to teach to ever consider any other option.

    I know and am glad however, that you will continue to do it your way. It is a way worthy of both notice and respect. It is a way where even we who disagree can reach compromise and friendship through rational discourse and reasoned argument.

    Besides, Amigos never die, they just ride off into the sunset to become legend.

    Like

    • Roland says:

      Hooda Thunkit (aka Dave Zawodny) and Tim Higgins,

      Your comments are very well received and appreciated. It is good to know I have friends of the third kind with some close encounters in both the cyber world and the real world, as well as in both types of other worlds.

      Thank you very much. Your comments and friendship truly mean much to me and provide me with inspiration to continuing on in so many ways.

      It seems as though neither any (or very few) of my family other than Judy, of course, or is she really Carmen) nor any the “friends” I’ve developed over the past six decades in the realms of the neighborhoods in which I have lived, my former places of employment, or any of the many civic and community and charitable and labor and political organizations in which I have been active have taken any kind of interest in my blogs or other internet commentaries nor have they seemed to have done likewise in my real world life. It is extremely rare for any of them to ever provide any feedback or on-going contact. But, I need to remind myself, after all, that they are only people. Of course, there have been some exceptions when it comes from my very, very large family over the many years from time to time, most notably from my son Adam, my nephew Jason, my brother Rich, and my brother Ron.

      People are people, that is true. But the Amigos transcend all that. The True Amigos are more than family, friends, or people. The True Amigos are real menschen!

      Like

  5. Jack Z says:

    A great song sung by legends in their time.
    I found this after searching regarding Michael Jackson’s death.

    I wonder what will be the thoughts 10 or 20 years after this date about Michael?
    Thanks
    Jack

    Like

  6. Roland says:

    Thanks for the comment, Jack.
    However, I have to say: I could not care less about Michael Jackson.

    Like

Leave a Reply

