Law of Diminishing Returns

Have you ever heard of the law of diminishing returns?
Check out the this web page about law of diminishing returns.

I am going to apply that concept to social relationships. It seems to me that the more I try to increase social contacts with family and friends, the less success I achieve.

It also seems to me that after many years of such efforts, I would learn. But no, not me. I’ve even tried the internet social network services to increase the opportunities of contact.

But, that is a whole other story. Read my thoughts about that over here.

About Roland Louis Hansen

I have been: an organization development consultant; a college-level instructor of political science, psychology, and sociology; a public administrator; a social worker; an elected official; a political operative; a community activist; a union official; a shoe salesman and manager, a factory worker; a fast food restaurant employee; and, a custodian.
This entry was posted in Blogs, Commentary, Family, Finance, General, Language, Personal, Sociology. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Law of Diminishing Returns

  1. Rich says:

    Roland, I am here and read the family info everyday but don’t reply alot unless it ask me too. I am sorry if I have offended you or anyone else.

    Like

  2. Roland says:

    Rich,
    You have not offended me.
    My comments just reflect the fact that I have come to realize that most people just plain do not care in maintaining personal contact with family and friends. It seems to me that most people will talk the talk but not walk the walk.
    There has just been way too many times over way too many years that have I heard folks say “I’ll call you” or “I’ll see you soon” or “let’s get together soon” and then —- nothing.
    It also seems that many people spend way too much time “playing hop scotch” on the internet in superficial social networking sites, all the time neglecting the true warmth of personal real life family time and friendships.

    Like

Leave a Reply

