Social Networking Sites – R.I.P. ??

Did you read Roland’s Ramblings Law of Diminishing Returns and Roland Hansen Commentary Social Network Services Diminish Family Life And Friendships?

If so, you know my thoughts on Social Network Internet sites. Those thoughts and my opinion evolved over approximately less than a one year period of time in which I attempted to expand my horizons to increase positive experiences in social networking but the overall results of which were quite the contrary in that I have had less face to face personal contacts with family and friends than I had before, even to the point that alienation was the result in some instances.

None-the-less, today I read an entry on another blog that in turn contained a link to an article about social networking sites which peeked my interest on the subject.

I suggest you, too, read Chili Dog Blog It’s So Over: Facebook, and follow the link contained therein to read the article It’s SO over: cool cyberkids abandon social networking sites.

About Roland Louis Hansen

I have been: an organization development consultant; a college-level instructor of political science, psychology, and sociology; a public administrator; a social worker; an elected official; a political operative; a community activist; a union official; a shoe salesman and manager, a factory worker; a fast food restaurant employee; and, a custodian.
This entry was posted in Blogs, Commentary, Communication, General, Language, Musing, People, Sociology. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Social Networking Sites – R.I.P. ??

  1. Jason Hansen says:

    It was already known that a maturer crowd used Facebook compared to MySpace. I’m sure the “cool cyberkids” still use MySpace. If not, they are using Twitter… most likely the latter. By the way… Facebook started out as being for University students only (requiring a .edu email address for registration). So, five/six years later… that would change their age group and that’s most likely why the “cool cyberkids” flocked to MySpace years ago.

    Like

  2. Being unfamiliar with social networking sites, I don’t suppose that I can relate.

    I never saw the value in social networking; I’m more of a face to face kinda guy…

    Like

  3. Chris says:

    I asked the college-aged son of my neighbor and good friend, in an obvious tongue-in-cheek tone, “Do you mind if I add you as a friend in facebook?”

    He looked petrified.

    We’ve been down this road with electronic (mis)communication before. First with email, then instant messaging, then social sites, and now, most predominantly, text messaging.

    Will we ever learn?

    My daughter told me earlier this summer that one of the things she is most looking forward to as she leaves for college is learning how to talk on the phone again.

    Like

  4. Winky Twinky says:

    Hey Roland,

    I’m on MySpace and FaceBook, but frankly I don’t use it for much. For me it’s just an occasional drop-in-to-say-hi kinda thing. I don’t think those places, in and of themselves, are the reason why people don’t get together as much as they used to… people seem to just be doing their own thing…but the popularity of home computers as a whole probably does take up a lot of time people might have used before them to spend with family and friends more.

    Like

Leave a Reply

