Have a Safeway Fourth of July

A lot of people are saying to have a safe Fourth (of July) and I agree with the sentiment. But, ya know, there are a lot of idiots out there that have slush for brains. I’m talking about the jackass people who go out and buy all kinds of incendiary devices containing explosive material to shoot off in their residential neighborhoods. If those dimwits want to blow off their own fingers or hand and/or possibly kill themselves, I guess that is their own business, although I do not think their family members would be pleased. However, when those muttonheads endanger me, my family, or my property, well, then, that is another story all by itself!

Okay, let’s get on with this Roland’s Ramblings blog entry.

I have spent Independence Day in a variety of locales. As I write this in my Toledo, Ohio residence, I am reminded of one specific period of time that included the Fourth of July when as a splitter I was in my other abode located in Mesa, Arizona. Judy and I went to The Fort to observe their community celebration  that included free food, an outdoor concert, a light show, and a professionally orchestrated fireworks extravaganza. Then, there was just last year when we went to the celebration held in the “Lime Center Of The World” just because we wanted to see and listen to our most favorite local band, All 4 It!; and this year, on Sunday, the 4th of July, we may just go see All 4 It! again when they perform at 8:00 p.m. out at Trailmarker Park in Woodville, Ohio.

Oh my, how I ramble on!!! Let me get back to the original thought that brought all this about. It all began with an e-mail I received today from Safeway telling me about their “Low prices on everything for July 4th!” I have been to Safeway in Arizona and in Hawaii. I sure wish there was a Toledo, Ohio Safeway.

What? You don’t see the connection? Let me explain how my mind thinks. It is all quite simple really. The Safeway e-mail made me think of my Mesa, Arizona home; because, there is a nearby Safeway.  Then, I thought of the time when I was there over the 4th of July which led my thoughts to fireworks. The name ‘Safeway’ brought forth the thought of the word ‘safe’ which all made me think of people saying “Have a Safe Fourth.”

See, clear as day. Well, at any rate, I hope we have a clear night for all the Fourth of July celebrations so we can clearly see the safe fireworks displays.

Oh, you’re probably still wondering how I came to name the title of this blog entry. Well, if I were in my Mesa home over this weekend, I could go grocery shopping on Sunday and then I could say to everyone there:
Have a Safeway Fourth of July.

About Roland Louis Hansen

I have been: an organization development consultant; a college-level instructor of political science, psychology, and sociology; a public administrator; a social worker; an elected official; a political operative; a community activist; a union official; a shoe salesman and manager, a factory worker; a fast food restaurant employee; and, a custodian.
This entry was posted in General, Hawaii. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Have a Safeway Fourth of July

  1. Judy says:

    If there was a Safe way to light up the night in my neighborhood, I wouldn’t mind it so much. In fact I would love a Safeway in my Toledo neighborhood!

    Like

Leave a Reply

