Hello World!

Welcome to the new home of Roland’s Ramblings over here now at WordPress.com.

I first started my Roland’s Ramblings blog way back on July 17, 2004. Since my first posting, Roland’s Ramblings has undergone several incarnations with the fourth and hopefully final version being totally of my own creation.

The first three incarnations of Roland’s Ramblings were the result of my nephew, Jason Hansen, setting it all up for me using his computer as a server, that is, if I understand it correctly. Heck, I do not understand all this stuff; I just use it the best I can., At any rate, the first incarnation of July 17, 2004 was under the domain of warpedthoughts.com. The second incarnation made its appearance on March 27, 2006 after Jason changed the domain over to theglitch.ws. The third incarnation came along on May 25, 2010 when Jason switched the domain over to jasonhansen.net.

Then, on July 22, 2010, I received notice from Jason that effective September 1, 2010 he was no longer going to be the conduit for the hosting provider of Roland;s Ramblings. The question then for me was whether I would continue with blogging under a site named Roland’s Ramblings, and if so, how. I had absolutely no idea how to set it all up or how to save all the hard work I had put into the previous Roland’s Ramblings. The first two years of work for the first incarnation had been lost, and it is only through something called the Wayback Machine that I was able to recover some of them but not able to transfer the actual contents thereof onto the newer 2006 version of the Roland’s Ramblings blog itself.

That brings us up to the present. Today, after much careful thought and introspection over the past week, I decided to try to learn how to set up a new home for Roland’s Ramblings and to try to learn how to transfer all my previous work. As I keyboard this entry, I think I have been able to do so successfully. I will be able to ascertain that after I hit the publish button.

If you are reading this, and if you can see all the previous entries, then yell:
EUREKA.

And, if that is the case, I can say:
Hello World!

About Roland Louis Hansen

I have been: an organization development consultant; a college-level instructor of political science, psychology, and sociology; a public administrator; a social worker; an elected official; a political operative; a community activist; a union official; a shoe salesman and manager, a factory worker; a fast food restaurant employee; and, a custodian.
This entry was posted in General. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Hello World!

  1. Rich says:

    Thank you for continuing with Roland’s Rambings as I enjoy reading it and gain information from it. Get er done.

    Like

  2. Roland says:

    Eureka!
    Veni. Vini. Vinci.

    Like

  3. Amigo Roland,

    The migration was successful, EUREKA!

    🙂

    Like

  4. Jason Hansen says:

    Just to clarify… If I was hosting this from my own computer, I would continue to do so. However I pay, ReadySetConnect.com, for a web server & space. I’ll be moving my own blog over to Posterous which is a free service & it’ll be easier for me as most of my entries will be done via my iPhone. As I stated in my email… I hope you understand.

    Like

    • Jason, as I have said before, I do not understand the techno stuff. All the technical nuances just do not register with me. I profess and freely and fully admit my ignorance of computers, IT, servers, broadband width, — all that stuff and everything related to it.
      I have no idea what ReadySetConnect.com is or how it works; but, I do appreciate you providing it and your helping with it in however and whatever way that it made my blog possible.
      Heck, I was amazed when I discovered this wordpress is the same wordpress I was using in my previous Roland’s Ramblings. I still do not understand how that is, but it works whether I understand it or not.
      Also, as I have always said, Jason, I appreciate all your help. I always have appreciated your assistance and always will appreciate all you have done for me.
      Love ya.

      Like

  5. Aunt Betty says:

    I HAVE NO IDEA AS TO WHAT ANYONE IS TALKING ABOUT! SO MAZEL TOV ON WHATEVER YOU HAVE DONE.

    Like

  6. Pingback: New Home | Judy's Jewels

  7. Pingback: Traveling Roland’s Ramblings in the Wayback Machine | Roland's Ramblings

Leave a Reply

