Be Yourself!

Who am I? Many people ask themselves that question. While other people, maybe even some of those I just mentioned, say they are trying to find themselves. Well, I guess the ponderance of that type of thinking might be a matter that concerns philosophy.

Regardless, my response to that subject of introspection is simple:
I say be yourself. That is how I have pretty much lived my life.
I am who I am and that is all that I am.

Why be anything but what you are? Oftentimes, I have heard people say “I just wish I could be myself.” Would it not be wonderful if each and every person accepted each and every other person for who that person is? I say people should quit being two-faced, quit being what others want them to be, and start being who they truly are. Shed the facade and be yourself.

The following is but the first stanza of a poem by Ellen Bailey.

Why would you want to be someone else
When you could be better by being yourself
Why pretend to be someone you are not
When you have something they haven’t got

You really should read the whole poem. It has a very appropriate name, especially given the title of this Roland’s Ramblings blog entry.
Hurry up, now, go on over to read Ellen Bailey’s poem:
Be Yourself.

Here is a quote for you to ponder:
God has given you one face, and you make yourself another. ~William Shakespeare
Read more Quotes About Being Yourself from The Quote Garden.

Ah, but you say it is not so easy to just be yourself. Never fear, help is here. Just click over to How to Be Yourself from WikiHow.

I say be yourself. The website of Psychology Today has an article I challenge you to read. Appropriately enough, the article is: Dare To Be Yourself.

About Roland Louis Hansen

I have been: an organization development consultant; a college-level instructor of political science, psychology, and sociology; a public administrator; a social worker; an elected official; a political operative; a community activist; a union official; a shoe salesman and manager, a factory worker; a fast food restaurant employee; and, a custodian.
This entry was posted in Commentary, Entertainment, Philosophy, Poetry, Psychology, Quotations, Websites. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Be Yourself!

  1. Judy says:

    I wish it were that easy to be yourself with everyone, but I don’t think it is. Human nature rears it’s ugly head and projects it’s values and demands on others. In which case, one would want to be carefull and maybe a little guarded in what they want to say. In a perfect world, I’m just sayin…….again!!!!

    Like

    • Roland says:

      Just my point, Judy!
      The fact of the matter is that, for the most part, people are hypocrites. They want to be who they want to be, but do not want you to be who you want to be. They do not like to be judged, but they love to judge others. They do not want you to tell them what to believe, how to act, what to say or how to say it, how to dress, and so on; but, they want to tell you what to believe, how to act, how to talk, and dress, and so on and so forth.

      Like

  2. Tim Higgins says:

    Roland,

    OK, I will go ahead and be myself; though I have to admit that one of the major reasons is that I have been unable to convince anyone else to take the position.

    Like

Leave a Reply

