Toledo Ballet, The Nutcracker, with My Oldest Granddaughter

I have two granddaughters who take ballet lessons at the School of Toledo Ballet. Both are the daughters of the younger of my two sons. My older granddaughter is 7 years old and her younger sister, my other garanddaughter, is 4 years old.

Earlier this past week, my older granddaughter told me that she had auditioned for a part in The Nutcracker. As I understand it, the minimum age to try out for The Nutcracker is seven years old; consequently, the second of my two granddaughters is too young to have “given it a go” also.

This morning, I received a telephone call from a very excited grandchild informing me that she had not gotten one part in The Nutcracker; she got two parts. She is being cast into the part of Little Mouse and the part of Baby Angel. What can I say? Wow! This is one proud Zayde here at the keyboard.

Now, let us turn our attention to the subject of The Nutcracker and the Toledo Ballet.

The Nutcracker is a two-act ballet that had its first showing at the Mariinsky Theatre of Saint Petersburg, Russia in December of 1892.

The Nutcracker Ballet is based on the book called “The Nutcracker and the Mouse King” written by E.T.A. Hoffman. It was in 1891 that choreographer Marius Petipa commissioned Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky to write the music for the Nutcracker Ballet.

Looking at the history of The Nutcracker, we see that after making its way into Western Europe in the 1930s, The Nutcracker had its first performance in the United States in 1944.

Meanwhile, back in Toledo, Ohio, we see that “The Toledo Ballet boasts the longest running annual production of Nutcracker in the United States…”
And to think that this year, my granddaughter will be performing in the Toledo Ballet production of The Nutcracker on Friday, December  10, at 11:00 a.m.; on Saturday, December 11, at 2:00 p.m. and at 7:00 p.m.; and on Sunday, December 12, at 2:00 p.m.

About Roland Louis Hansen

I have been: an organization development consultant; a college-level instructor of political science, psychology, and sociology; a public administrator; a social worker; an elected official; a political operative; a community activist; a union official; a shoe salesman and manager, a factory worker; a fast food restaurant employee; and, a custodian.
This entry was posted in Entertainment, Family, History, Personal. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Toledo Ballet, The Nutcracker, with My Oldest Granddaughter

  1. Judy says:

    I’m so proud of her, that’s our granddaughter!

    Like

  2. Marc says:

    I am very proud of her as well. The funny thing is that I talked to her about setting goals, mainly so that if she didn’t get a part, she would have her sights set on trying again next year. She had a goal of getting the part of a Little Mouse. Well, not only did she make her goal, she exceeded it. She has already said that she has a goal of getting the lead role of “Clara” when she gets older. Only time will tell. Thank you, Dad, for this well-written blog entry.

    Like

  3. Pingback: Happy Birthday to Number Two Son! | Roland's Ramblings

  4. Pingback: Happy Birthday to Number Two Son! | Roland's Ramblings

  5. Pingback: The Nutcracker Featuring My Two Granddaughters | Roland's Ramblings

Leave a Reply

