Amapola

I recently received an e-mail from my Aunt Betty in which I learned of a favorite song of my mother, Perel Pola Pearl Lerman Hansen, may she rest in peace. Of course, I had to learn more about the song, so internet researching I went.

Originally written in Spanish by composer Joseph LaCalle, the song Amapola was translated into the English language with the English lyrics written by Albert Gamsee. In that my mother lived for seven years in Ciudad de La Habana and began her schooling there, I am fairly sure she enjoyed both the Spanish and English versions of the song.

Head on over to listen to the song Amapola as sung by Deanna Durbin in the movie “First Love.” And over this-a-way, you can listen to the English version of Amapola by Tony Williams.

You know? I cannot help but notice the similarity in the name of the song and my mother’s name that she obtained while living in Cuba.

About Roland Louis Hansen

I have been: an organization development consultant; a college-level instructor of political science, psychology, and sociology; a public administrator; a social worker; an elected official; a political operative; a community activist; a union official; a shoe salesman and manager, a factory worker; a fast food restaurant employee; and, a custodian.
This entry was posted in Entertainment, Family, Personal, Places. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Amapola

  1. Pingback: Same date in History; Different Family Events. Anniversary of the Death of My Mother, Pearl Lerman Hansen. Anniversary of the Birth of My Nephew, Joseph Desgrange. | Roland's Ramblings

  2. Pingback: Pearl Lerman: Pearl Hansen (1921 – 1984) – Find A Grave Photos | Roland's Ramblings

Leave a Reply

