Homily

Do you know the definition of a homily?

According to thefreedictionary.com, a homily is a sermon, or a tedious moralizing lecture, or an inspirational saying.

My usage of the word homily has been more often in reference to an inspirational saying. And, there is a very good reason for that as you may learn by continuing to read the rest of the story.

I had a friend, collegue, and professor, Hugh Hinton, who used to have some insightful sayings that he referred to individually as a Hinton Homily and collectively as Hinton’s Homilies. Hugh Hinton and his homilies made quite an impact upon me. Since I first was exposed to Hinton’s Homilies, I have come up with a few sayings of my own that I have referred to individually as a Hansen Homily and collectively as Hansen’s Homilies.

You know? I have had occasional thoughts of assembling all my little sayings and collating them as a published anthology entitled “Hansen’s Homilies” with a dedication to my friend Hugh, Dr. Hinton the Professor. Chances of an actual publication are slim and it will more than likely not happen. However, I can still think about it from time to time as I trek through this place called Earth and what life has to offer.

About Roland Louis Hansen

I have been: an organization development consultant; a college-level instructor of political science, psychology, and sociology; a public administrator; a social worker; an elected official; a political operative; a community activist; a union official; a shoe salesman and manager, a factory worker; a fast food restaurant employee; and, a custodian.
This entry was posted in Commentary, Entertainment, Friends, Language, People, Personal. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Homily

  1. Tim Higgins says:

    I look forward eagerly to its publication.

    Like

  2. I would expect it to make for some fascinating reading 😉

    Like

Leave a Reply

