Does God Belong in Government?

I received a forward/forward/forward e-mail concerning government and religion with which I totally disagree as a matter of principle. The e-mail wanted me to pass it on if I agreed with it, or otherwise delete certain things.

I am reproducing it below in its entirity and then afterwards I have some further comments of my own. Please continuing reading all the way through.

This is by a daughter of a murdered couple in Raytown , MO, Who had a Bible and Bookstore on 63rd street ..

When I had to testify at the murder trial of my parents a week ago, I was asked to raise my right hand… The bailiff started out “Do you swear to tell the truth, the whole truth and nothing but the truth?”

I stood there and waited but she said nothing. She said “Do you?”

I was so stunned I blurted out “What happened to “so help me God’?”

She came back with “Do you?” I replied yes, but I was perplexed.

Then the judge said .. “You can say that if you want to.”

I stopped, raised my right hand, and finished with “So help me God!”

I told my son and daughter that when it came time for them to testify, they should do the same.

I don’t know what can be done about it, but it’s time for us to step up and DO something.

NBC this morning had a poll on this question.. They had the highest number of responses that they have ever had for one of their polls, and the percentage was the same as this:

86% to keep the words, 14% against.. That is a pretty ‘commanding’ public response.

I was asked to send this on if I agreed or delete if I didn’t.

Now it is your turn.. It is said that 86% of Americans believe in God.

Therefore, I have a very hard time understanding why there is such a mess about having “In God We Trust” on our money and having God in the Pledge of Allegiance.

Why is the world catering to this 14%?

If you agree, pass this on, if not, simply delete….
IN GOD WE TRUST

AS TO THE 14% who don’t like the phrase? used in court? being on their money? They can send it all to me, I LOVE IT!

AGREE OR DELETE

If You Choose To Delete
Perhaps Then You Are Part Of The Problem

Me? I’m Passing It On.
It seems to get worse daily.

I DO NOT AGREE WITH THIS; however, I chose not to delete it and instead post it on Roland’s Ramblings.

My personal belief is that I support the Constitution of the United States of America and that includes the First Amendment. Therefore, in keeping with the United States Constitution, I do not believe it is the proper role of the United States government to promote religion in any way.

I could care less about any of the polls or the fact that 86% of the people polled believe in a Supreme Being referred to as God in this piece of propaganda.

The fact remains that the principle of our American government is based upon majority rule and minority rights. By imposing the personal belief of a majority on this issue, that by the way has nothing to do with government, the minority rights are being abridged. To all the people who disagree with me, I say go out there and push for a repeal of the religion clause in First Amendment. If such an effort is successful, then you would have the right to impose your personal religious views unto others; keep in mind of course that the majority religion then can force you to follow its beliefs rather than your own.

If you truly believe in this chain mail, you will have the courage of your own conviction to actively work on changing the United States Constitution. I say to you: Put up or shut up.

More of my perspective may be found by clicking on over to read Roland Hansen Commentary: Religion and Politics.

About Roland Louis Hansen

I have been: an organization development consultant; a college-level instructor of political science, psychology, and sociology; a public administrator; a social worker; an elected official; a political operative; a community activist; a union official; a shoe salesman and manager, a factory worker; a fast food restaurant employee; and, a custodian.
This entry was posted in Commentary, Government, Personal, Political Science, Politics, Religion. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Does God Belong in Government?

  1. Since making this entry, I have received a second e-mail almost identical to the one I referenced in my blog entry. I cannot help but be astounded by the lack of understanding the vast majority of Americans have concerning our Constitution and the freedoms and protections it provides each individual citizen. I am absolutely amazed that people seem to think that the majority should have the right to force their personal beliefs onto all Americans.
    I have a rhetorical question to those 86 percent mentioned in that spam e-mail: What if Atheists (or Jews or Muslims or Druids or Devil Worshipers or whatever) were the majority in the USA? Would you want them to force their personal beliefs and practices onto you?

    Like

  2. Judy says:

    I wish everyone had the needed background to fully understand what this is all about! But like so many other issues, it’s over the heads of most people and therefore they just ignore it instead of learning more about it.

    Like

Leave a Reply

