It’s a Century!

No, I am not alluding to a period of one hundred years or one hundred Roman soldiers. Maybe, I should plant an idea in your head as I saw done when I watched the movie Inception; or maybe, I should just come out and admit I am writing about the Century Plant.

There are a variety of plants that are referred to as the Century Plant, including the agave parryi. The United States Department of Agriculture, Natural Resources Conservation Service, has a web page of the agave arizonica that is also called the Arizona Century Plant. Also, there is a Wikipedia article you may read that starts out by stating “Agave americana, commonly known as the Century Plant, is an agave originally from Mexico but cultivated worldwide as an ornamental plant.” Click on over in order to continue reading the Wikipedia agave americana article.

While the Century Plant does bloom from time to time, I do not think I would care to eat a Blooming Century Plant. However, I do know that I enjoy eating a Blooming Onion. Mahalo has a web page “How to Make a Blooming Onion”. There is also a Blooming Onion page from Allrecipes.com that you may find interesting and useful.

About Roland Louis Hansen

I have been: an organization development consultant; a college-level instructor of political science, psychology, and sociology; a public administrator; a social worker; an elected official; a political operative; a community activist; a union official; a shoe salesman and manager, a factory worker; a fast food restaurant employee; and, a custodian.
This entry was posted in Food, General, Science. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to It’s a Century!

  1. Judy Hansen says:

    I hope you’re happy, now I’m craving a blooming onion.

    Like

  2. Judy says:

    I hope you’re happy, now I’m craving a blooming onion!!!

    Like

  3. Aunt Betty says:

    The Outback restaurant is waiting for you, Judy.

    Like

Leave a Reply

