The Time Is Now To Tell Others You Love Them

Thanksgiving is around the corner. It is a time to say thanks for many things. But, you know, we should all be thankful every single day for what we have; not just material things, but life itself and all it has to offer.

We should also be thankful each and every day for having those we love in our lives. All too often, people neglect to tell those that they love, such as parents, children, spouse, brothers, sisters, as well as other family and friends, how much they truly care.

I came across the poem The Time Is Now when I looked up a column of Dear Abby online that had caught my attention in the print media. The printed version that I had read was entitled “Let loved ones know how much you care before it is too late.” The only real difference in the hard copy version and the online version is the poem; otherwise both contain a letter by Rabbi Albert Slomovitz in which he writes of a dying woman. Part of his letter states “Let loved ones know today how important they are to you. If you can resolve a family disagreement, do it as soon as possible. Life is too short for many of these disagreements.”

The online version of the column which you may read by clicking on its title heading is entitled Dying Woman Celebrated Holidays In A ‘Living Wake’ at the end of which is the poem that I referenced above.

About Roland Louis Hansen

I have been: an organization development consultant; a college-level instructor of political science, psychology, and sociology; a public administrator; a social worker; an elected official; a political operative; a community activist; a union official; a shoe salesman and manager, a factory worker; a fast food restaurant employee; and, a custodian.
This entry was posted in Commentary, People, Poetry. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Time Is Now To Tell Others You Love Them

  1. Judy says:

    I find it interesting that you put this post up on this date. I wish my son would read this poem! Actually there are more than a few people I wish would read it. Talk is cheap, put your heart in your mind before you put your mind in your heart. I know that may not make sense to you, but I understand what I meant it to mean! I just hope the right people get it also, since they KNOW me so well!!!!

    Like

  2. Pingback: Have No Regrets. Live Life. | Roland's Ramblings

Leave a Reply

