Napoleon Complex; Short Man’s Syndrome

Recently. Charlotte Bogdanski, aka Charlie Hansen, the adult daughter of my brother Garry Thomas Bogdanski who in his younger years had his last name legally changed to Hansen (he and I had the same mother but different fathers), made an interesting comment in reference to me in answering a question from one of her friends on Facebook. In one of several responses to her friend, Charlie used the following descriptive phrase: “Short Man syndrome (better known as the Napoleon complex).”

So, I decided to google search the phrase “Short Man syndrome” and I read this from the Urban Dictionary.

Then, I also read the wikipedia Napolean complex article. It is quite interesting. If you click on this embedded link it will take you to that article.

I wonder how many other people make such references to persons of less than average height.

About Roland Louis Hansen

I have been: an organization development consultant; a college-level instructor of political science, psychology, and sociology; a public administrator; a social worker; an elected official; a political operative; a community activist; a union official; a shoe salesman and manager, a factory worker; a fast food restaurant employee; and, a custodian.
This entry was posted in Family, General, Language, Personal, Psychology. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Napoleon Complex; Short Man’s Syndrome

  1. Tim Higgins says:

    Roland,

    Your posting reminded me of an apt quotation that I recently came across:

    I’m NOT short. I prefer to think there is simply more space above my head for word balloons full of devastatingly pithy witticisms.
    – R. Stevens,

    Like

  2. Charlie says:

    “I just don’t get it – he even defined short man’s syndrome and it made me laugh that he didn’t see it.” -anonymous

    “Do you think he found it ‘quite interesting’ because it is in fact quite true?” -anonymous

    “Who’s he trying to convince that he doesn’t have it? us or himself?”-anonymous

    “The only person that actually commented on his silly little blog, insinuated overcompensation as well.”

    I suppose I’m not the only one that feels that way! So I suppose the answer to you aforementioned question is at least four more.

    Like

    • Well, no mater how ill-intended, ill-willed, mean, malicious, plain out-right cruel by intending to cause hurt, at least Charlie has the courage to use her own name.
      As far as anonymous people who probably personally know very little if anything about their targeted victim. I just chalk them off as cyberbully cowards.
      Thank you for your input and feedback, Charlie. By the way, Charlotte, is your email address still (ilovemateddi@yahoo.com)?

      Like

  3. As a follow-up concerning my reference to “cyberbully cowards” that I wrote in the preceding, I suggest you head on over to read more comments related to what I refer to as cyberbully syndrome.

    Like

  4. Charlie says:

    Yep

    Like

  5. Aunt Betty says:

    I could comment on many more of your blogs, Roland, but choose not to because I am usually too tired at the end of the day. Don’t forget that I am a senior! However, this one I could pass by. Grandma used to call a certain gentleman, whom you know, Liliput because he was short. She never used that for anyone else. I always thought it was a made up name growing up, but then I learned that it was a real word meaning short. I never found out whether she called him that because she did not like him orwhatever. I think it came from being born in Europe and people were known to give people nicknames, often not being very nice. Years ago, someone came out with a song abour short people. I hated the song because as you know Harriet is short. I could not believe that whoever wrote the song could be so cruel. If you have any time, look up the word liliput.

    Like

  6. I still wonder why Charlotte felt it necessary to belittle me. I do not recall ever saying anything nasty to her. As a matter of fact, I believe I have always been kind and considerate to Charlotte.
    I have to also wonder why the son of my mother and of William Bogdanski (my mother’s husband back in the the early 1950s), my brother Garry Bogdanski, who had his last name legally changed to Hansen, and his wife Lorraine would ever condone such disrespect.

    Like

  7. Roland says:

    Actually, rather than seeing myself as a short man, I prefer to think of me as being vertically challenged.

    Like

  8. If the term “Short Man’s Syndrome” is used in reference to describe an alleged type of inferiority complex, is the term “small minded” appropriately used to reference the people who have a superiority complex demonstrating such by their use of the “Short Man’s Syndrome” terminology?

    Like

  9. Jesús Gonzáles says:

    Why is your niece, Charlotte Hansen, so mean-spirited? She seems as if she is just a nasty, cruel, ill-mannered spoiled brat!!!

    Like

  10. It is amazing how mean, cruel, and downright nasty some people can be. Just a couple months ago, Charlotte Bogdanski, aka Charlie Hansen, removed my wife Judy as a “friend” on Facebook. Mind you that she and Judy had always been close; I remember the times when Charlotte was a young girl and Judy would take her to the nail salon for some pampering. Well, when Charlotte removed Judy as a Facebook contact, Judy picked up the telephone and called Charlotte. Judy asked Charlotte why she had done that and Charlotte’s response was that she wanted nothing to do with me and that Judy was married to me and therefore part of the equation. As Judy attempted to reply, Charlotte abruptly hung up the phone. Whatever her reason is for disowning me (and I do not know her reason for doing so) should have no bearing on being so mean, cruel, and nasty to Judy.

    Like

  11. Oh, by the way, here is something interesting that I was able to capture from Facebook:

    Charlie Hansen
    Facebook Posting
    Some people need to learn that, “Do not contact me anymore..[I] would not like anything more to do with you,” is not code for, “I want to strike up a conversation with you.”

    Charlie Hansen
    near Chandler, AZ via mobile
    Some people need to learn that, “Do not contact me anymore..[I] would not like anything more to do with you,” is not code for, “I want to strike up a conversation with you.”
    Amanda Hansen Kaiser and 3 others like this. (Ashley Leeper, Brandon Zwick, Timothy Simpson)

    William Stewart
    Who’s bugging u

    Charlie Hansen
    My uncle who’s has been harassing my family. We’ve all tried to “disown” him, but he can’t seem to get it through his thick skull that all of us are done putting up with his bullshit and short man’s syndrome. He stalks our facebooks and frequently emails. Plus he’s terribly manipulative and likes to play the victim..pretty much he’s got a screw loose haha
    via mobile

    William Stewart
    I c that’s not cool
    via mobile

    Charlie Hansen
    Ya pretty sad he’d rather be a thorn in our sides as opposed to just getting out of our lives for good! Everyone’s got that crazy family member that they’re forced to share blood with haha
    via mobile

    William Stewart
    Ya pretty much and its usually the uncle lol
    via mobile

    Like

  12. Pingback: “Ignorance is bliss.” Charlotte Michele Hansen. | Roland's Ramblings

Leave a Reply

