“Don’t call me. I’ll call you.”

I am thinking of telephone conversations I have had, not just recently but off and on over the years, in which the other party tells me that he or she is busy at the moment but will give me a call back. Days or weeks or months will go by with no call back. Okay, so I call the person again and get the same old song and dance response again! Days, weeks, months, years go by, no return telephone call!

A similar situation occurs with personal face-to-face visits. So many times, I have been told “we’ve got to get together, sometime.” Well, I will tell you that I am dismayed and fed up with fair-weather friends who tell me they want to get together, but even after weeks or months or years go by, they never seem to find the time to do so.

Both types of situations are totally deplorable and unacceptable. Why do folks say they will call me back or say they want to get together with me when in fact they have no intention to either call me or get together with me.

It seems to me as though those yayholes essentially go by that old put-off phrase that is the antonym of the idiom ‘keep in touch’ and that is “Don’t call me. I’ll call you.” And yet, many, though not all of these same people, certainly know me when they want to borrow money or need a favor; then they know my telephone number to call me or can find the time to see me for the desired favor or money or whatever.

To them I say:
You inconsiderate, deceitful, lying, scuzbuckets. I am through with your “friend of convenience” ways. As quoth The Raven, “Nevermore.”

I ask you, have you ever had friends or family treat you this same way?

About Roland Louis Hansen

I have been: an organization development consultant; a college-level instructor of political science, psychology, and sociology; a public administrator; a social worker; an elected official; a political operative; a community activist; a union official; a shoe salesman and manager, a factory worker; a fast food restaurant employee; and, a custodian.
This entry was posted in Commentary, Family, Friends, Language, People, Personal, Poetry. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to “Don’t call me. I’ll call you.”

  1. Aunt Betty says:

    First comment on Happy Birthday Lisa. Happy Birthday Lisa. Too bad too many years passed by which I regret wholeheartedly. Please stay well. Second comment, how many times have people said, “Let’s get together or let’s call one another and nothing happens. It;s reality. We are all guilty of it. I combined comments as I am going to bed. Had a full day. Was with cousin Ben, 92, and his friend and caretaker of 7 years, She takes good c are of him but she’s a New Yorker just like him, but she kind of gets on my nerves. Should probably be writing this in a personal e mail. Love ya,

    Like

  2. Pingback: Serenity Now! | Roland's Ramblings

Leave a Reply

