Problems with Virtual Memory

Okay, so I have big-time problems with virtual memory

No, not the memory in my head. I am adressing the virtual memory that is in my desktop home computer, which I have only just learned is also referred so as a paging file. I am techno challenged to the point of almost being techno illiterate.

I tried so many things to help me with my virtual memory. I cleaned out the cookies; and, I emptied all the temporary internet files. I removed little-used and unused files and programs including such things as Netscape Navigator, Mozilla Firefox, AIM, Yahoo IM, and more; I removed many photos. None of that has not helped.

At any rate, I did a trusty internet search courtesy Judy’s netbook and the home wireless router. I found some things that helped me to learn to some degree. Things such as:
Virtual Memory Low—What to Do?
How can I optimize the Windows 2000/XP/2003 virtual memory (Pagefile)?
How can I fix “too little virtual memory” in Windows?
Windows 2000/NT forum: virtual memory low

I have read all that and much, much more, all to no avail. I have made many attempts at adjusting the minimum and maximum settings for the virtual memory, but none of the numbers I put in to increase the VM have worked because I do not know how much RAM is available, nor can I find that information anywhere in my computer. Not only have I not been able to fix the problem, it now seems to be worse than before. Oh, my! The trials and tribulations of this modern technological age are taxing my geriatric mind.

About Roland Louis Hansen

I have been: an organization development consultant; a college-level instructor of political science, psychology, and sociology; a public administrator; a social worker; an elected official; a political operative; a community activist; a union official; a shoe salesman and manager, a factory worker; a fast food restaurant employee; and, a custodian.
This entry was posted in Commentary, Personal, Technology, Websites. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

