Who Matters?

There comes a point in your life when you realize:
Who matters, Who never did, Who won’t anymore,
And who always will….
So, don’t worry about people from your past,
there’s a reason why they didn’t make it to your future.

The above quote (author unknown) has been going around quite a bit on the internet. I guess there is a reason for so many people to embrace it. I guess there may be some wisdom to it. But, you know what? No matter how much I attempt to internalize its message and put it into my own mindset, I have been miserably unsuccessful.

There are many people in my life who I truly wish would have come with me into my future and stayed with me in the present; but, they did not, and it bothers me regardless of how I try not to let it bother me. No matter how much I tried to maintain some kind of contact with people throughout my life, it just seems as though others did not share my longing to stay connected. I value family and friends. To me, they are an intricate part of life’s treasures.

I have heard so many people bemoan the fact that they did not keep in touch with others with whom they lost contact or who have since died. They talk the talk, but do not walk the walk. They do not change their course of action for the future, but continue their usual behavior and actions by not keeping in touch with those in their present, who then become those in their past. That includes quite of few people who have become part of my past and with whom I have continuously tried to re-connect. I wonder: “Is there something wrong with me that I value people and connectiveness so much?”

I have to also wonder why so many people can so easily dismiss members of their own family or people they have been close to in school, at work, or in community life. Incidentally, I do not include the really nasty folks in any of the categories.

Who matters?  …  I think everyone matters.

About Roland Louis Hansen

I have been: an organization development consultant; a college-level instructor of political science, psychology, and sociology; a public administrator; a social worker; an elected official; a political operative; a community activist; a union official; a shoe salesman and manager, a factory worker; a fast food restaurant employee; and, a custodian.
This entry was posted in Commentary, Musing, Personal, Quotations. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Who Matters?

  1. Sandy says:

    I can think of one person in particular who we both know you are better not having them in your future and sadly I have to keep running into this person every now and then. How do I get them out of mine? 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

