Is Origanum Vulgare Really Vulgar Oregano?

I do not wish to write in a vulgar manner but I read that origanum vulgare is the scientific name for oregano. Of course, as anyone who knows me, my mind immediately thought up the term of vulgar oregano. However, as I continued to read, I realized that oregano is anything but vulgar.

I also read that oregano is called wild marjoram in many parts of Europe; and that that oregano is a healthy herb.

Given that oregano is healthy and given that oregano is used in in the preparation of many Mexican, Spanish, Italian and other Mediterranean dishes and cuisines, it just might be a good idea to home grow some culinary oregano.

And while I know that there are health benefits to oil of oregano, I am not so sure about the health benefits of Arizona Oregano’s.

About Roland Louis Hansen

I have been: an organization development consultant; a college-level instructor of political science, psychology, and sociology; a public administrator; a social worker; an elected official; a political operative; a community activist; a union official; a shoe salesman and manager, a factory worker; a fast food restaurant employee; and, a custodian.
This entry was posted in Food, Health, Medicine, Science, Websites. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Is Origanum Vulgare Really Vulgar Oregano?

  1. Colline says:

    I believe the original meaning of the latin word “vulgaris” was common. Therefore I would think this oregano is a common herb.

    Like

Leave a Reply

