A Father’s Wish

As an older father with adult children, I often wonder about the memories my two sons and my daughter have of their childhood. In regards to their growing up years, I wonder if they enjoyed their years growing up; I wonder if they felt loved; I wonder what pleasant memories they may have; I wonder what unpleasant memories they have; I wonder what they thought of me as a father. I wonder all these things and more.

My best guess is that I will never know the thoughts and/or memories that Adam and Marcus and Lisa have in those regards; but, I wish I could know the answers to all those wonderings of mine.

As Father’s Day is fast approaching, my angst continues to exponentially heighten in wondering how good (or bad) a father I have been and how good (or bad) a father I am. My wish for this Father’s Day is to have my adult children realize how much all this really means to me. I have this unquenchable thirst to know these things. It is the only Father’s Day gift that I really wish from my children.

About Roland Louis Hansen

I have been: an organization development consultant; a college-level instructor of political science, psychology, and sociology; a public administrator; a social worker; an elected official; a political operative; a community activist; a union official; a shoe salesman and manager, a factory worker; a fast food restaurant employee; and, a custodian.
This entry was posted in Family, Holidays, Personal, Websites. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to A Father’s Wish

  1. Judy says:

    Your kids are lucky because you have given them The Hansen Family Site on the internet so that they an keep in touch with family members and have a historical record of what the family interactions have been. I wish I had something like that when I was growing up and now for the Grandkids. Our Blogs are also a gift as we tell things that maybe of interest to them, I wish they would read them and comment every once in a while.

    Like

  2. Almost 6 years have gone by since I posted this Roland’s Ramblings entry; and, I still have no idea what thoughts and/or memories my three children, now al in their 40s, have of their childhood years or of me as a father.

    Like

  3. Pingback: A Remorseful Dad Thinking Of Father’s Day | Roland's Ramblings

Leave a Reply

