A Liar is a Liar is a Liar!

Right up front, I proclaim:
“I hate liars!”

Oftentimes, I know people are lying to me, trying to purposely deceive me for whatever reason. The thing is that most of them do not realize that I am aware of their lying ways. Whenever someone is telling me something that is not true, and they do not know that I know that it is not true, I get the urge to shout: “Liar, Liar, Pants on Fire.”

Some folks have lied to me so often, sometimes about things that mean much to me and at other times about such things that mean very little or nothing to me, that I no longer believe anything they say. Now, that I have that out of the way, I ask you to continue reading and to make sure you click on each of the embedded links.

“A liar begins with making falsehood appear like truth, and ends with making truth itself appear like falsehood.” – William Shenstone

“A liar will not be believed, even when he speaks the truth.” – Aesop

“No man has a good enough memory to be a successful liar.” – Abraham Lincoln

“The only thing worse than a liar is a liar that’s also a hypocrite!” – Tennessee Williams

“A person who knowingly utters falsehood; one who declares to another as a fact what he knows to be not true, and with an intention to deceive him.” is a very good definition of a liar.
ref: KJV Dictionary Definition: liar

Urban Dictionary has several definitions for the word liar. The one I like best is:
4. liar
someone who tells obvious lies just to make themselves look good, but infact make themselves look stupid and pathetic purely because they think everyone acctually believes them!

ref: Urban Dictionary/liar

I found an interesting page on the internet that is informative and helpful in learning how to detect when someone is being (shall I say) less than truthful. Click on over to read:
How to Detect Lies

From Answers.com, you may read the article:
How can you tell if someone is a pathological liar?

“Compulsive liar symptoms are seen in people who lie even if there is no need of it, without giving a second thought to the impact it may have on the future or their relations. This article will cover some aspects on compulsive liar symptoms.”
Read the whole article by clicking on:
Compulsive liar symptoms

And to end this Roland’s Ramblings, there is a brief article I suggest you click on over to read. It is:
What is the Difference Between a Sociopath, a Compulsive, a Pathological, a Chronic, and a Habitual Liar? from Truth About Deception.

Postscript: This is not the first time, I have written on this topic. Back in 2007, I wrote Logical Path Liar.

About Roland Louis Hansen

I have been: an organization development consultant; a college-level instructor of political science, psychology, and sociology; a public administrator; a social worker; an elected official; a political operative; a community activist; a union official; a shoe salesman and manager, a factory worker; a fast food restaurant employee; and, a custodian.
This entry was posted in Commentary, Communication, General, Language, Musing, People, Personal, Psychology, Quotations, Sociology, Websites. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A Liar is a Liar is a Liar!

  1. A recent occurrence has reminded me of this blog entry! Why some folks lie and deceive without reservation and without reason is beyond my comprehension. Gee, sometimes, I just wish people could and would recognize the truth within themselves.

    Like

Leave a Reply

