Moving to Denmark. Maybe yes, maybe no.

Sometimes, like at this moment right now, I think I should relocate from the USA and emigrate to Danmark (the Danish name for the country of Denmark), the land of my paternal grandparents. I am very seriously considering relocating to the Aarhus area; although, I have not ruled out Copenhagen, Aalborg, or Odense.

My paternal grandparents were from Denmark. My grandfather left his country of birth on August 8, 1907. He was born in Rubjerg and last resided in Hjorring before emigrating to the USA. My grandmother was born in Esse and had resided in Gravlev, Oplev, and Aalborg prior to leaving Denmark on September 10, 1908. My grandparents wed one another in Elk Horn, Iowa on November 19, 1910. They began their family soon afterward while in Elk Horn and later moved the family to Toledo, Ohio.

However, my maternal lineage is not Danish. My mother was born in Podolia Guberniya. She became a naturalized American citizen after having emigrated to the United States of America from Eastern Europe and living seven years in Cuba before being allowed into the United States.

Remember these entries from Roland’s Ramblings:
Podolia Guberniya posted on December 15, 2006
Danish Treat posted on December 22, 2006

In Danmark (aka Denmark) I could blend my paternal heritage with my maternal heritage as you may see and read by clicking over Jewish points of interest webpage from the website of VisitDenmark.

About Roland Louis Hansen

I have been: an organization development consultant; a college-level instructor of political science, psychology, and sociology; a public administrator; a social worker; an elected official; a political operative; a community activist; a union official; a shoe salesman and manager, a factory worker; a fast food restaurant employee; and, a custodian.
This entry was posted in Blogs, Danish, Family, General, Jewish, Personal, Places, Travel, Websites. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Moving to Denmark. Maybe yes, maybe no.

  1. Judy says:

    Jeg vil gerne besøge Danmark, før vi beslutter om at flytte dertil!

    Like

  2. After having read a blogger entry of Kelly Draper over on blogs.denmark.dk, I have ruled out moving to Denmark on a year-around basis. However, a summer home in Denmark just may be the answer for me.
    ref: Preparing for Winter

    Like

Leave a Reply

