Friends and Relatives Who Matter to Me

An open and public message to all the people I know:

Soon I will be 64 years of age, if I am fortunate enough to live to my next birthday the end of November of 2011. After having undergone a health crisis, undergoing numerous medical tests, and then receiving a bit of disconcerting news from my doctor several weeks ago and upon reflection that I have spent the bulk of my life helping others who seem to conveniently forget I even exist, I have gained a new perspective in my life which I have adapted.

My new outlook actually came about after having read the following quotation on Facebook:

If someone wants to be a part of your life, they’ll make an effort to be part of it. So don’t bother reserving a space in your heart for someone who doesn’t make an effort to stay.
– Best Quotes

ref: Best Quotes on Facebook

So people, family and friends alike, if you want to be a part of my life, you are most entirely welcome. However, you need to take the initiative to contact me; you need to arrange the time for a visit; you need to set the time aside to see me; you need to put together the family gatherings; you need to set up the date and time and place to get together socially for coffee or breakfast or lunch or dinner or whatever; you need to arrange the trip you wouild like for us to take together; you need to do your part to be in my life in any way, shape, or form.

My days of doing for others who do not reciprocate and my days of arranging everything are over. I fully expect that the remainder of my life will be spent solely with my loving wife, Judy, and/or alone; because, past experience has demonstrated most of my family and friends and other people that I know have depended on me taking the initiative, on me maintaining the contact, and on me for making all the arrangements of getting together.

About Roland Louis Hansen

I have been: an organization development consultant; a college-level instructor of political science, psychology, and sociology; a public administrator; a social worker; an elected official; a political operative; a community activist; a union official; a shoe salesman and manager, a factory worker; a fast food restaurant employee; and, a custodian.
This entry was posted in Commentary, Family, Friends, Musing, People, Personal, Quotations. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Friends and Relatives Who Matter to Me

  1. Judy says:

    I am forever at your side, in good times and bad! We will get thought all this together because in the end we are all we’ve got!

    Like

  2. Rich says:

    Good Luck there Brother

    Like

  3. Tim Higgins says:

    You will never be alone Mi Amigo!

    Like

  4. More quoted statements that I have adopted:

    “Don’t dwell on those who let you down, cherish those who hold you up.” – Author Unknown

    “There’s a point in your life when you get tired of trying to fix everything and trying to make everyone happy. When you finally decide to quit, it’s NOT giving up. It’s realizing you don’t need certain people and the bullshit they bring to your life.” – Author Unknown

    Like

Leave a Reply

