The Ten Commandments: Your Version, My Version, Or What?

Upon reading an entry of Judy’s Jewels, I gave much introspection to the topic before I finally decided to make a comment that while somewhat personal seemed none-the-less appropriate given the fact that I researched not only its subject matter but the entire topic of which that entry falls within, i.e. The Ten Commandments.

Having made my comment to Clean Air or Clear the Air, I decided to make this entry on Roland’s Ramblings.

Without a doubt, there has been extensive controversy in the United States of America concerning the display of religious exhibits on public property, i.e. on local, state, and national government premises. Some people assert that a display on government-owned public property, such as a courthouse lawn, of The Ten Commandments should not be considered as religious and should not be controversial. However, I am left wondering as to which version of The Ten Commandments do those people make reference. That same concern has even been debated in the United States House of Representatives.

There is the Jewish version of The Ten Commandments, the Catholic version of The Ten Commandments, the Protestant version of The Ten Commandments, The Ten Commandments in Mormonism, and I don’t even know how many other versions of The Ten Commandments.

So when it comes to The Ten Commandments, as the title of this Roland’s Ramblings asks, are we speaking of your version, my version, or what?

Okay, that is enough from Roland Louis Hansen on Roland’s Ramblings. It will be interesting to me to see if anyone weighs in on this issue by making any comments to this blog entry.

About Roland Louis Hansen

I have been: an organization development consultant; a college-level instructor of political science, psychology, and sociology; a public administrator; a social worker; an elected official; a political operative; a community activist; a union official; a shoe salesman and manager, a factory worker; a fast food restaurant employee; and, a custodian.
This entry was posted in Blogs, Commentary, Government, History, Jewish, Musing, Personal, Philosophy, Politics, Public Policy, Religion, Sociology, Spirituality, Websites. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Ten Commandments: Your Version, My Version, Or What?

  1. And here I thought that the Ten Commandments had been chiseled in stone. Who knew that having written in such a manner, that there could be versions.

    Then again, how many versions of the Bible are there?

    Like

  2. They were written in stone, and as such, that is my 10 commandments. I am not confused. Are you?

    Like

  3. They were written in stone, and therefore are my 10 commandments. I’m not confused, are you?

    Like

Leave a Reply

