Optimist, Pessimist, Realist. Which Are You?

Are you an Optimist? Are you a Pessimist?

I found an interesting website; it is PsychCentral.com. There are several blogs over there, each of which has several writers. One such blog is World of Psychology in which I read an entry that concluded with:

So it’s different strokes for different folks. Optimism and pessimism aren’t just accidents; this evidence suggests they are two different, but effective, strategies of coping with a complex and unpredictable world.

Read that entire blog entry written by Jeremy Dean by clicking on the embedded link contained within its title, Pessimism vs Optimism.

You might also find some interesting reading on this subject over at the website of FutureVisions. Click on over to read it, and interestingly enough it has the same title as the other to which I linked in the preceding paragraph:
Pessimism vs Optimism.

As an aside, for many, many years (40+) I considered myself an optimist about people. I figured all the grumpy folks were just pessimists. A couple years ago, I had an epiphany. After so many years of trying my best at being helpful to others in a wide variety of ways, and after so many years of organizing a wide variety of events for family and friends and community, oftentimes at some considerable expense to myself (financially, time committment, and emotionally), and after all those years of not being on the receiving end of someone else taking the initiative of doing likewise, after so many years of hardly anyone ever wanting to just get together for a visit or giving me a telephone call or of being disowned by family or otherwise left out or ignored by others, I said “Enough is enough. NO MORE!” I had always tried to stay away from that attitude; because, I thought it was a terribly pessimistic approach to take in human relations. However, my thinking on that changed drastically two years ago. As I wrote in a comment to the TALINORFALI blog entry Being Used, Then Put To The Side When Not Needed Anymore…, “I do not consider myself to be pessimistic about people, friends, and family; I consider myself to be a REALIST after my many, many experiences over these past 40+ years.”

ref: Definition of Realist.

About Roland Louis Hansen

I have been: an organization development consultant; a college-level instructor of political science, psychology, and sociology; a public administrator; a social worker; an elected official; a political operative; a community activist; a union official; a shoe salesman and manager, a factory worker; a fast food restaurant employee; and, a custodian.
This entry was posted in Blogs, Commentary, Family, Friends, Language, Musing, People, Personal, Philosophy, Psychology, Sociology. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Optimist, Pessimist, Realist. Which Are You?

  1. When confronted with this dilemma, I always remember what I was taught:
    Optimist – A person who sees the glass half full.
    Pessimist – A person who sees the glass half empty.
    Realist – A person who asks why we have twice as much glass as we need for the water we have.
    Me – A person who asks: “What glass?”

    Like

Leave a Reply

