YWOTD: Af Tsores

Oh, boy! Am I ever af tsores again!!!! Why don’t I just keep all my thoughts to myself — then maybe, I would not be af tsores.

All I did this time was to write on the Facebook wall of my wife my opinion of people on Facebook who write a comment, receive responding comments about it from others on Facebook, decide they do not like the feedback they are getting, and consequently remove their own initial comment along with the comments of everyone who had responded.

But, you know, I get the feeling that if I remained silent that it would be just my luck I would then be af tsores for not communicating. There are just some people in this world that cannot be pleased unless you agree with everything they say and agree with everything they do. Oops, am I in trouble again? Am I in deep doo-doo yet once more? Am I always to be in hot water for expressing my opinions?

What? You need more information about af tsores? Okay, it is Yiddish and can have several meanings in English, such as: full of troubles; in trouble; in hot water; in “doo-doo.”

You do not have to be Jewish to appreciate the Yiddish language. Over at Hebrew4Christians.com, you can learn Some Yiddish Words, A little bit of Yiddish… which is the web page I used to give you the definition above for af tsores.

About Roland Louis Hansen

I have been: an organization development consultant; a college-level instructor of political science, psychology, and sociology; a public administrator; a social worker; an elected official; a political operative; a community activist; a union official; a shoe salesman and manager, a factory worker; a fast food restaurant employee; and, a custodian.
This entry was posted in Commentary, Communication, Jewish, Language, Musing, People, Personal, Psychology, Sociology, Websites, YWOTD (Yiddish Word Of The Day) ייִדיש. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

