Red Wine For Diabetes Treatment

Ever since I was diagnosed with Type 2 Diabetes in October of 2011, managing my diabetes has been a major challenge for me. It has been so difficult to try to keep my blood sugar level even close to what is considered as normal as possible without having some major fluctuations. Even though I am very careful in what I eat, and even though I am very conscientious in taking my daily glimepiride tablet at the same time every day, I still have difficulty most of the time in maintaining a good, healthy blood sugar balance.

There are days that my blood sugar level gets so extremely low that I get shaky, sweaty, anxious, and downright yucky!! That is when I pop the needed glucose tablets, or drink some juice, or grab something to eat in order to bring my level of blood sugar back up to something that is safe and normal.

However, that is not as often as the opposite difficulty I have been experiencing. Upon awakening in the morning after not having anything to eat for the past 12 hours or so, I take out my trusty glucometer prior to eating breakfast in order to check my blood sugar level. More often than not, my blood sugar reading is nowhere near where it should be, but rather it is at the level that one should expect just 2 hours after a meal. Not good; not good, at all.

So, anyway, sometime ago, I had learned that people with diabetes should not drink alcohol. However, because I had no idea why a diabetic should not imbibe beer, wine, and other spirits, I decided to research it some. What I discovered was that alcohol lowers blood sugar in the human body; and, therefore, alcohol may cause dangerously low levels of blood sugar in people who are on diabetes medication or insulin. Well, upon reading that, I began in the evenings to have one small 5 ounce glassful from the bottle of Manischewitz wine that Judy had previously purchased but had remained unopened. Lo and behold! – my blood sugar level was near normal in the the mornings thereafter. That was back about a month or so. When the bottle was empty, that was it. I did not go out and buy any more wine. It was my thinking that maybe I should be even more diligent in my food intake being ever so conscious of carbohydrates, sugar content, etc. Bada Bing Bada Boom! My morning sugar level went right back to the ‘above-what-it-should-be’ range and continues to do so.

Just before I began composing this rambling, I did another research job on the internet. I earnestly searched out whatever I could read about the effects of drinking wine on persons with diabetes. Take a look by clicking onto the headings below to open a new window that will allow you to read some of what I found:
Glass of red wine a day ‘treats diabetes by helping body regulate blood sugar levels’, David Derbyshire, MailOnline, November 22, 2010.
Red Wine, Tea, May Help Regulate Blood Sugar In Type 2 Diabetics, Research Suggests, ScienceDaily, April 2, 2008.
Alcohol Consumption and Type 2 Diabetes, Madelyn L. Wheeler, Marion J. Franz, Janice C. Froehlich, DOC NEWS, October 2004, vol. 1 no. 2, 7, Diabetes Journals
Alcohol Helps Prevent Type-2 Diabetes, Especially for the Overweight, Jacob Gaffney, Wine Spectator, February 29, 2012

Consequently, I have now decided that I am going to go out, buy some red wine, and begin an evening 5 ounce dose of the vino, strictly for medicinal purposes only.

Bonus Links for today are:
DiabetesWellBeing
American Diabetes Association

About Roland Louis Hansen

I have been: an organization development consultant; a college-level instructor of political science, psychology, and sociology; a public administrator; a social worker; an elected official; a political operative; a community activist; a union official; a shoe salesman and manager, a factory worker; a fast food restaurant employee; and, a custodian.
This entry was posted in Commentary, Food, General, History, Language, Medicine, Musing, Things, Websites. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Red Wine For Diabetes Treatment

  1. awesome news!

    Bill used to do that nightly, a little glass of red sangria, but we have gotten out of the habit…I think I’ll try to start up again tonight…of course for medicinal purposes only…

    and I have found that Tequila does not affect my blood sugar at all, perhaps because it’s not a grain/sugar…as long as I have it straight up it’s no problem or if I mix my own margarita using fresh lime juice, tequila, a dash of triple sec and stevia…that has a little effect, but not much.

    Wen’

    Like

  2. Read about Diabetes and Alcohol from DiabetesWellBeing.com.

    Like

  3. lindataylor333@gmail.com says:

    Roland, I am so glad to find your post about wine. I am 61 and was diagnosed year ago, struggling just as you were with those morning readings, all doc wants is to increase meds &insulin. I am encouraged by your results &have bought bottle of Manischewitz. Will let you know how it works!

    Like

Leave a Reply

