Facebook Non-Friends Of A Sad And Lonely Man

I have previously written on several occasions my thoughts about the troubles that may arise out of the use of Facebook, as have a couple other folks I know. Rather than refer you to all the writings I have made on the subject, I suggest you take a look at and read just a couple:
Social Networking Sites – R.I.P. ?? posted August 6, 2009 on Roland’s Ramblings.
Facebook. Just Blowing Smoke… posted November 14, 2011 on Roland’s Ramblings.

And now, the saga continues …….

Not very long ago, I wrote  a note page on my Facebook account entitled “UNFRIENDS” and “NONFRIENDS” of Roland Hansen that was my response to people who dropped me as a Facebook friend when I refused to only make comments that met with their approval, and by the way, none of my comments were nasty, rude, crude, vulgar, or obscene. The opening paragraph and the last few paragraphs of that Facebook note of mine are as follows:

Well, once again, I have been defriended by someone on Facebook. The latest to become my “unfriend” and “nonfriend”  is Gina Black, the niece of my wife. Gina follows in the footsteps of her brother, Ben Black and his wife Alanna Rochel Black, and of her mother, Rochelle Black, along with my stepson, Brian Zifkin, all of whom have “unfriended” me on Facebook. Apparently, these people only know me when they want a favor or there is something materialistic in it for them. Apparently, I am supposed to think, and act, and express myself only when it agrees with their way of thinking. These particular people call themselves “good” and “observant” Jews, as members of the Orthodox Judaism community  and/or the Lubavitch movement within Orthodoxy. I do not think G-d would approve of their behaviors.
…..
…..
…..
Why do I put this on Facebook? Many people would ask that question and/or condemn me for doing so.
My response is really quite simple: I am who I am; I do not act or talk one way in public and a different way in private; I refuse to be like those others who are such hypocrites. And, I will not allow those kind of people to take advantage of me, misuse me, abuse me, control me, manipulate me, or silence me. I will expose users and abusers, “fairweather friends” including relatives, deceit, dishonesty, and hypocrisy whenever and wherever I find it. Those type of people should take and assume responsibility for their own actions and they should accept the consequences of their behavior rather than run and hide. I post this for them and the world to see and read.
I assume full responsibility for myself and accept the consequences of my actions.
I fully realize that many people do not approve of my doing this in a public arena; however, I desire these people and others like them to know I will not be their doormat to be walked upon.

Well, I guess some people are not too happy with me for having written my thoughts on the topic as a note over there on my own Facebook page. In response to that Facebook note of mine, I received a message from Alanna Rochel Black, aka Alanna Duskin-Black, the wife of Ben Black who is the son of my wife’s sister, Rochelle Black. Here is a copy of what Alanna wrote:

Are you that sad and lonely in life that you feel the need to devote the time and energy to create such things calling people out by name? You are in no position to judge the actions of anyone and I certainly do not need to justify mine to you. Kindly do not contact me ever again.

So, I guess there are some images of me that may come to the mind of Alanna Rochel Black. Here, take a look/see at (just click) these images.

Read:
Lonely Old Man © 2001 by Michelle Korgis-Fitzpatrick

About Roland Louis Hansen

I have been: an organization development consultant; a college-level instructor of political science, psychology, and sociology; a public administrator; a social worker; an elected official; a political operative; a community activist; a union official; a shoe salesman and manager, a factory worker; a fast food restaurant employee; and, a custodian.
This entry was posted in Blogs, Commentary, Family, Friends, Jewish, Personal, Poetry, Psychology, Sociology. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

