Hey, You Guys, There Is No ‘s In The Plural!!!

When I wrote Apostrophe “S” back on October 25, 2010, I started out with the statement “I do not understand why so many people seem to think that an apostrophe is needed in making a singular word into its plural form.”

It still amazes me as I continue to see the addition of ‘s in print advertising, on storefront names, in web logs, newspapers, magazines, etc. I hope you noticed that I did not write name’s, web log’s, newspaper’s, or magazine’s. I think it is totally unacceptable when that error slips by the copywriter, proofreader, the editor, and other so-called responsible professionals. It seems to me that basic writing and proofreading knowledge and ability has been discarded and ignored by almost everyone.

And, do you know what else? I am also disturbed by newscasters, waitresses, other service workers, and — well, anybody, for that matter, using the phrase “you guys when addressing women or when addressing men and women together. Again, I hope you noticed that I did not use ‘s when I wrote the plural form of the words in the preceding sentence.

About Roland Louis Hansen

I have been: an organization development consultant; a college-level instructor of political science, psychology, and sociology; a public administrator; a social worker; an elected official; a political operative; a community activist; a union official; a shoe salesman and manager, a factory worker; a fast food restaurant employee; and, a custodian.
This entry was posted in Commentary, Communication, Education, General, Language, Things. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Hey, You Guys, There Is No ‘s In The Plural!!!

  1. Chris says:

    I enjoyed yet another one of your valuable lesson’s. thanks Roland.

    Like

  2. Chris says:

    how stupid could I be? Of course I meant thank’s Roland.

    Like

  3. Judy Hansen says:

    Even spell check tries to correct the “s” issue! But I refuse to give in to their wishes! I have made this mistake many times myself so I understand the problem! I’m sure this topic will appear on this Blog sometime in the future once again, as it should!!!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

