Apathy, Its Roots, and Martin Niemöller

Sad but true, apathy is how bad things in society continue to exist. While apathy is known by other names, it is the root of many evils in our society. But, that is just my opinion.

Click over this-away to read about The Roots of Apathy.

I have heard and read the following that is attributed to Martin Niemöller:

First they came for the communists,
and I didn’t speak out because I wasn’t a communist.
Then they came for the trade unionists,
and I didn’t speak out because I wasn’t a trade unionist.
Then they came for the Jews,
and I didn’t speak out because I wasn’t a Jew.
Then they came for me
and there was no one left to speak out for me.

Click over to read the not-sugar-coated, very blunt:
Who Was Martin Niemoller?
You might also wish to click over to read the Wikipedia Martin Niemöller article.

Or, don’t read any of what I wrote here or just nonchalantly dismiss it, and remain in the very popular and very populated World of Apathy.
(note: Make sure to click unto “Show more” on that last embedded link, then read as you listen)

About Roland Louis Hansen

I have been: an organization development consultant; a college-level instructor of political science, psychology, and sociology; a public administrator; a social worker; an elected official; a political operative; a community activist; a union official; a shoe salesman and manager, a factory worker; a fast food restaurant employee; and, a custodian.
This entry was posted in Commentary, Community, Education, Entertainment, History, Language, Musing, People, Political Science, Psychology, Quotations, Sociology. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

