Same date in History; Different Family Events. Anniversary of the Death of My Mother, Pearl Lerman Hansen. Anniversary of the Birth of My Nephew, Joseph Desgrange.

Today is October 20, 2015. October 20 has very special meaning to me.

October 20, 1984 is a date that I had identified with two very different emotional events in my family history; one sad and one happy, that is up until the year 2014 came about.

Having died on October 20, 1984, today is the 31st anniversary of the death of my mother, Pearl Lerman Hansen.

For the past 31 years, just as I did when she was alive,  I  have thought of my mother each and every day. I sometimes think that I am the only person who thinks of my mother on this specific date of October 20.

I have written about and/or mentioned my mother in several Roland’s Ramblings blog entries. I mention just a few with a brief excerpt of each in the following:
> “… Before being allowed into the United States, she, her older sister, and her mother (my grandmother) had to wait in Havana, Cuba where they lived for seven years. My mother was born in Podolia Guberniya. …” Podolia Guberniya, Posted on December 15, 2006.
> “My mother came from the “old country” when she was very young. For whatever reason, my mother’s mother could not recall dates of events from the days back in the old country. Maybe that was due to the Russian Revolution and what my grandmother lived through and managed to survive. …” December 22 and My Mother, Posted on December 22, 2008.
> ” … my mother was a naturalized citizen … “ American Citizenship, Posted on July 14, 2009.
> “… There are Jewish people in all parts of the world; and many trace their ancestry back to various parts of Europe. As an example, my mother …” Litvak, Galitzianer, Lithuanian Jews, Posted on June 8, 2010.
> “… a favorite song of my mother, Perel Pola Pearl Lerman Hansen, …” Amapola, Posted on September 27, 2010.
> “… more research of my maternal heritage …” The Pale Of Settlement (Russian: Черта́ осе́длости, chertá osédlosti, Yiddish: דער תּחום-המושבֿ der tkhum-ha-moyshəv, Hebrew: תְּחוּם הַמּוֹשָב‎, tḥùm ha-mosháv), Posted on July 25, 2012.
> “… My Jewish mother …” Danish Lutheran Ukrainian Russian Jewish American, Posted on October 3, 2014.

October 20 of last year and October 20 this year have been twice the emotional strain for me.

You see, October 20 also happens to be the 31st anniversary of the birth of the second son of my sister Cheryl, my nephew, Joseph Desgrange. For 29 years, Joseph’s birthday was somewhat bittersweet; bitter in that the death of my mother was forefront in my mind, but sweet in that the birth of Joseph was cause for joyous celebration.

However, Joseph met with an untimely death on April 25, 2014; and now, October 20 only brings me double sadness.

About Roland Louis Hansen

I have been: an organization development consultant; a college-level instructor of political science, psychology, and sociology; a public administrator; a social worker; an elected official; a political operative; a community activist; a union official; a shoe salesman and manager, a factory worker; a fast food restaurant employee; and, a custodian.
This entry was posted in Blogs, Encore, Events, Family, Jewish, Nostalgia, People, Personal, YWOTD (Yiddish Word Of The Day) ייִדיש. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Same date in History; Different Family Events. Anniversary of the Death of My Mother, Pearl Lerman Hansen. Anniversary of the Birth of My Nephew, Joseph Desgrange.

  1. cwmartin13 says:

    I am so sorry to hear this. But we keep them alive with our memory, and the stories we tell.

    Like

  2. Judy Hansen says:

    If the kids today only knew how important it is to hear the stories the elders have to tell, they would pay closer attention. We have been asked by our Grand children for information for school projects. Once we are gone, so are the stories and the information. Also, a text message is not the only way we need them to keep in touch with us. Phone calls and regular visits are what we gave our parents and grand parents, that is why we know the stories to tell. Roland and I speak about our Moms all the time, I wonder how often the kids think of us?

    Like

Leave a Reply

