The Facebook Reaction of A Prejudiced Discriminating Xenophobe.

For the past five days now, as of the writing of this Roland’s Ramblings entry, I have been writing a variety of comments and linking to several memes and factual sources on my own Facebook page in which I had also written, “I declare war on xenophobia! ”

Ever since I have been doing this, I have received many negative messages and even a few threats, all of which I have documented and retained as evidence should the need ever arise. I have been removed as a “friend” on Facebook by several people, many of whom had allegedly been friends in real life. One person even stated that she had given out my home address to people.

Here is just part of one response that I received from one woman I have known and with whom I had been “friends” for the past 45 years in regards to my writings opposing xenophobia in conjunction with the opposition of those xenophobes to providing sanctuary to Syrian refugees:

Roland, you have expressed your opinions numerous times over the last few days. Now, you have become obsessed and annoying. ENOUGH. … drop it. Enough is enough … {you} shove {your} views down everyone’s throat like a bully. If you are serious about helping the refugees, I suggest you take a family into your home…

My response to that person was and is:

I speak out against prejudice, discrimination, and xenophobia. I will not be silenced, nor will I allow others to silence me.

When the Nazis came for the communists,
I remained silent;
I was not a communist.
When they locked up the social democrats,
I remained silent;
I was not a social democrat.
When they came for the trade unionists,
 did not speak out;
I was not a trade unionist.
When they came for the Jews,
I remained silent;
I wasn’t a Jew.
When they came for me,
there was no one left to speak out.
— Martin Niemöller [Friedrich Gustav Emil Martin Niemöller, Protestant pastor and social activist, January 14, 1892 – March 6, 1984]

About Roland Louis Hansen

I have been: an organization development consultant; a college-level instructor of political science, psychology, and sociology; a public administrator; a social worker; an elected official; a political operative; a community activist; a union official; a shoe salesman and manager, a factory worker; a fast food restaurant employee; and, a custodian.
This entry was posted in Commentary, Events, Friends, General, Musing, People, Personal, Public Policy, Religion, Sociology. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Facebook Reaction of A Prejudiced Discriminating Xenophobe.

  1. anerz879 says:

    Not sure what xenophobia is, however, I am sure I do not want to let in any Syrian’s who fully support the Muslim agend while decieving everyone as being a refugee. Let us not forget that “Good Muslim Jihadists” are told that they have Allah’s permission to decieve the hell out of all “infidels and unbelievers.” IF they can give each syrian refugee a shot of sodium pentothal, and then ask them quesitons; well I believe that this would be a great way to give peace of mind to every American citizen. Our ability to treat illegal immagrents as our equals in recieving American rights is unbelievable and shamefully narcissicly stupid. When these Syrian refugees start turning and bombing the cities that are their new home don’t say we didn’t tell you so. And by then the damage will have been done and it will be too late to correct our ‘humanitarian mistake’ in a kind manner. Before then, it will pay to know your God and to know how and why you believe in him. I am willing to bet you, that if you examine all other religion’s down through the history of mankind, you will find that the only religion that had tolerance built into it from the beginning is the Jeduo-Christian faith. Good luck to all you thoughtless air-head believers who believe happiness is just an invisible pie in the sky.

    Like

  2. anerz879 says:

    For the record though, I do believe that those Syrian refugee’s who truly desire peace unstained by violance do have a right to live in America legally. But once again if you want to give your fellow man peace of mind, please hold up your belief system to the light of the Judeao Christian set of belief’s and see which is more compassionate. I do believe that any true seeker will realize that the Judeao-Christian belief system wins every time……..even and inspite of the fact that down through the history of man there have even been decievers in this religion too. But it was the decievers with in this religious belief system that were the ones responsible for committing acts of terror on other religions and not the true adherants to both the Old and New Testament faith systems. Anyone can twist any facts in any discipline to justify and excuse themselves. But the true adherants of the Judeao-Christian faith system are never ashamed to admit when they are wrong and make restitution for their sins when given the opportunity. It pays to know the “fruit” of a true believer so that you can identify thruth from lies. And always remember, that any human place in unspeakable situations and circumstances will find within themselves to do the unspeakable to survive when they truly love life and believe that life is worth fighting for.

    Like

Leave a Reply

