I exist; therefore, I am.

I do not feel I am important to anyone anymore

The older I get, the more I feel that I do not even exist in the lives of others as the meme would suggest. However, I do exist, even though others from my life do not actually include me as an integral part of their lives. As the years go by, I feel increasingly isolated. None-the-less, I exist; therefore, I am.

Bonus material: Go on over to read “Feeling Lonely In A Crowd” that was posted back on February 26, 2012.

About Roland Louis Hansen

I have been: an organization development consultant; a college-level instructor of political science, psychology, and sociology; a public administrator; a social worker; an elected official; a political operative; a community activist; a union official; a shoe salesman and manager, a factory worker; a fast food restaurant employee; and, a custodian.
This entry was posted in Commentary, Encore, Musing, Personal, Psychology, Sociology. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I exist; therefore, I am.

  1. cwmartin13 says:

    One thing I have learned (though don’t practice very well)- if you want to be included, you have to insert yourself.

    Like

  2. Since I first wrote and posted this blog entry, I must say several family members have come to include me in their lives on an ongoing regular basis. My deepest appreciation goes out to my brother Jan, my brother Ron and his wife Mary, my sister Cheryl and her husband Chuck, my niece Jacqueline and her husband Randy, and my long-lost but recently-found cousin David and his wife Helen.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

