I am still trying to be a better person.

Back on August 16, 2014, I conluded my Roland’s Ramblings entry with the following paragraph:

When Rich died, I made a pledge in his honor to try to be a better person. As I think of Rich each day, I also continue each day in my attempt to keep that pledge; and, I think I have made some progress. However, I feel I have fallen short. Therefore, on the anniversary of the death of my brother, Richard James Hansen, a good, kind hearted, selfless, generous, noble, patriotic, and gentle man, I renew my pledge and will continue to strive to become a better person.

ref: In Honor of my brother Richard James Hansen (January 10, 1945 – August 16, 2013)

Time and time again, I have fallen, and each time, I pick myself up, dust myself off, and start all over again.

Pick Yourself Up, Frank Sinatra – Lyrics

Now nothing’s impossible, I’ve found for when my chin is on the ground,
I pick myself up, dust myself off, and start all over again.
Don’t lose your confidence if you slip, be grateful for a pleasant trip,
And pick yourself up, dust off, start over again.
Work like a soul inspired until the battle of the day is won.
You may be sick and tired, but you be a man, my son.
Will you remember the famous men who have to fall to rise again,
So take a deep breath, pick yourself up, start all over again.

You gotta work like a soul inspired until the battle of the day is won.
You may be sick and tired, but you be a man, my son.
Will you remember the famous men who have to fall and then to rise again,
So take a deep breath, pick yourself up, dust yourself off, and start all over again.

Once again now:
Will you remember the famous men who have to fall and then rise again,
So take a deep breath, pick yourself up, dust yourself off, and start all over again.

That’s enough now.

Today is another one of those days that I realize I have strayed the course, and it is time to double down in my attempt to fulfill that pledge. It is not a pledge that I made lightly; and therefore, I will not abandon or forsake my solemn oath and promise.

I have found a couple articles that I hope will help me. If you think you may be interested in those articles, go on over to the embedded links for:
9 Ways To Be A Better Person
15 Ways to Become a Better Person

I can only hope that my family and friends will understand my shortcomings, accept the sincerity of my pledge, and help me in my honest desire to be a better person.

I NEED ALL THE HELP I CAN GET!

About Roland Louis Hansen

I have been: an organization development consultant; a college-level instructor of political science, psychology, and sociology; a public administrator; a social worker; an elected official; a political operative; a community activist; a union official; a shoe salesman and manager, a factory worker; a fast food restaurant employee; and, a custodian.
This entry was posted in Blogs, Commentary, Encore, Entertainment, Family, Friends, People, Personal, Psychology, Sociology, Websites. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

