Roland Louis Hansen Memories of Days Gone By.

I remember the very first time that I was a candidate for elective office. It was back in 1978 when I sought to be elected to the Ohio State Senate from District 1, a portion of Northwest Ohio that included all or parts of 7 counties.

Browse the “Meet the candidates” article from the November 2, 1978 edition of The Bryan Times.
Now, take a look at the November 5, 1978 Toledo Blade “Who Will be State Legislators?” article,
and
the November 5, 1978 Toledo Blade “Thumbnail Biographies Of Candidates In Tuesday’s Election” article.

Well, I lost that election back in 1978, but, five years later, in 1983, I sought and won election to a four-year term on the Lucas County Board of Education.

If you so desire, you may go on over to the Toledo Blade Thumbnail Biographical Sketch on me for that position which was published on November 6, 1983.

I won re-election to another four-year term on the Lucas County Board of Education in 1987.  I ran for re-election to another term in 1991, but lost. Not to be undaunted, however, I ran for another new four-year term in 1993 and won. In 1997, I made a decision not to seek re-election to the Lucas County Board of Education in which the meetings of the Board had become very acrimonious as the result of the other four Members of the Board playing political games that have absolutely no place on a school board and that I felt were unworthy of my service.

Despite future attempts at seeking elective office, my days of being an elected official came to an end as of 1998.

I continued to dabble in the political realm in a variety of ways, however.
As an example of my continued involvement in political matters other than being a candidate myself, I would like to point your attention over to the “Toledo Talk” message thread of August 28, 2015 entitled “10-year anniversary of the Aug 28, 2005 Toledo Mayoral Candidates Forum” for which I was the facilitator/moderator. That message thread along with its accompanying embedded links to some other message threads makes for an interesting read.
I enjoy reading about history, don’t you? — LOL.

About Roland Louis Hansen

I have been: an organization development consultant; a college-level instructor of political science, psychology, and sociology; a public administrator; a social worker; an elected official; a political operative; a community activist; a union official; a shoe salesman and manager, a factory worker; a fast food restaurant employee; and, a custodian.
This entry was posted in Blogs, Commentary, Community, Current Events, Education, Government, History, Nostalgia, Personal, Politics, Websites. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

