I am at a loss!

I remember an older generation person saying many years ago, “All my family and friends are gone (i.e. dead).”

How well I know and understand that statement, especially now that I am in my 70s. My grandparents, my parents, my many aunts and uncles, most all of my first cousins, my four older brothers, and a nephew of mine are all gone.

Over the years, many of my friends have passed away. It seems the pace at which people close to me are dying has been speeding up.

Yesterday, I learned that a childhood friend of mine, who was one month younger than I, from the small neighborhood in which I grew up, has recently died. Last week, I learned of the recent death of a friend and former co-worker, a man one month older than I. Within the preceding two weeks, two of my high school classmates died. Four deaths of friends my own age within the past six weeks.

I am fortunate to be alive; I am thankful for the gift of life; I am grateful for the people in my life who show they love and care for me – my wife, my family, my friends. The people who love me, who care for me, who include me in their lives are precious to me. They give reason to me. My life is better because of them.

At the same time, I am deeply saddened by the loss of so many family and friends. Loss not only caused by deaths, but also loss of family and friends who have chosen not to include me in their lives. Given my age and health, the chances of joining my deceased family and friends increases exponentially with each passing minute. And with each passing minute, the chances of me ever again seeing and speaking with those who have cast me aside, forsaking me, are greatly diminished. I miss those I love who have abandoned me. Will I ever see them, again? Probably not.

I am at a loss!

About Roland Louis Hansen

I have been: an organization development consultant; a college-level instructor of political science, psychology, and sociology; a public administrator; a social worker; an elected official; a political operative; a community activist; a union official; a shoe salesman and manager, a factory worker; a fast food restaurant employee; a discount store retail sales clerk; a stockroom worker; and, a custodian.
This entry was posted in Autobiography, Family, Friends, Personal. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I am at a loss!

  1. Roland — I have often observed that one of the hardest things about living a long life is that we lose so many friends and family members to death along the way. When we add to that number, those who no longer maintain contact with us, it makes things even harder. We are lucky to be alive, Roland, and lucky that we married loyal and wonderful Rosenberg girls!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Jan wells says:

    I totally underdtand..just this week I lost an aunt unexpectedly….I have 2 uncles and and aunt left..yes..my family circle is drawing in…almost in the same way expanding as I now have 10 great grandchildren..from ages of 10 to 2 months..so yes I can still count my blessings..plus friends to add to circle

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment